ISAF Annual Conference in China gets underway

Published on November 7th, 2015

The 2015 ISAF Annual Conference has commenced in Sanya, China, with the world of sailing gathering on the Chinese island of Hainan on November 7-14 to talk about the business of sailing and make the decisions that take the sport forward into the new year.

ISAF Committee and Sub-committee members are in Sanya where they will joined by Member National Authorities (MNAs), Class Associations, sailors, event organisers, boat manufacturers as well as a list of observers.

Over 250 submissions have been put forward by Committees, MNAs and Class Associations proposing changes to existing policies, regulations or rules as well as looking to introduce new ones.

Of those submissions, there are several relating to the Racing Rules and Equipment Rules of Sailing. The 2015 Annual Conference is the final opportunity for the Racing Rules Committee and the Equipment Control Sub-committee to discuss and propose their recommendations for the 2017-2020 Rule Books.

From the Youth Worlds Sub-Committee to the Classes Committee and through to the Oceanic and Offshore Committee, all submissions relating to each committee will be discussed throughout the week. The Committees will make their recommendations to ISAF Council, the final decision making body.

ISAF Council will discuss, review and vote on the recommendations put forward on Friday 13 and Saturday 14 November and will either approve, reject or defer them.

The MNA Forum will take on a new model in Sanya with an interactive forum featuring Executive Committee members, ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Nominees and Athlete Commission representatives. Topics are set to include the direction of World Sailing, the Emerging Nations Program, Match Racing Denmark’s model of using corporate sailing to finance their set up as well as a Q&A with Stan Honey on safety at sea and graphics in sailing.

On Tuesday 10 November, five male and five female sailors will be celebrated at the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards. Sarah Ayton (GBR), Sam Davies (GBR), Elena Kalinina (RUS), Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen (DEN) and Charline Picon (FRA) are all up for the title of Women’s ISAF Rolex Rolex World Sailor of the Year. The male nominees include, Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (NZL), Loick Peyron (FRA), Giles Scott (GBR), Ian Walker (GBR) and Ian Williams (GBR).

A live blog will be available from Saturday 7 November through to Saturday 14 November here:

The Annual Conference meeting schedule, papers and further information here:

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.