Rondina wins Lightning Youth Worlds

Published on July 27th, 2016

Salinas, Ecuador (July 27, 2016) – The Lightning Youth World Championship concluded today. Team Brazil did not have to race the final, sixth race of the regatta as Felipe Rondina with crew Thomas Petrie Sylvestre and Christian Lacerda Shaw posted first place in each of the previous five races. Martin Cloos / Bautista Menendez / Lucas Elias from Argentina finished second with 28 points, in third was the team of Matias Dyck with crew John Birkett and Jose Andres Lecaro from Ecuador, 29 points.

Event detailsScoreboard

Report by Doug Wake:
Felipe Rondina with his team of Thomas Sylvestre and Christian Shaw won the 2016 Lightning Youth World Championship by a whopping margin of 22 points, winning every race they competed in. The event was hosted by Salinas Yacht Club of Salinas, Ecuador. SYC is no stranger to high class event management, and did an absolutely terrific job off of the water keeping youth sailors watered and fed.

Competitors arrived on Friday, July 20, at which point sail measurement began. The regatta truly began that Saturday with the official practice race and boat draw. That night, competitors were greeted by the Commodore of SYC, the president of the Ecuadorian Sailing Federation, and significant Lightning Class members.

Sunday brought the first official races of the regatta. Winds were a moderate 10-12, and Team Rondina of Brazil opened with a 1,1. Scores of other boats were widely variable after this day of racing and the fleet was mixing itself up. On Monday, slightly more breeze was present, 13-16 knots. Once again, Rondina and team won both races. With the opportunity to clinch on Tuesday, the undefeated Brazilian team won each race again, securing their second Lightning Youth World’s title in a row. One more race was scheduled for Wednesday, which was won by Chris Schon of the USA. Rondina won the regatta with 6 points, followed by Martin Cloos of ARG with 28 points and Matias Dyck of Ecuador with 29.

Team Cloos won the “shipshape” award, recognizing their commitment and care in maintaining the borrowed boats that competitors used. Chris Schon won the Tom Allen Jr sportsmanship award. Tanner Probst placed fourth, as the top American team, with Abbie Probst in sixth and Doug Wake in seventh, also from USA. Rob Robinson was top Canadian in 13th.

The next Lightning Youth World’s will be held at a venue in Europe in 2018.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.