Visit Pensacola

Pacific Cup – The Epilogue

Published on July 31st, 2016

The biennial Pacific Cup attracted 64 entrants for the 2070 nm course from San Francisco to Hawaii, with the fleet divided among four staggered starts on July 11, 12, 14, and 15.

The 2016 Pacific Cup will be remembered for the big wind and seas that challenged some racers with broken boats and bodies, but pushed many in the fleet to record breaking passages.

Manouch Moshayedi’s super maxi Rio100 sped across the Pacific to set a new Pacific Cup Fastest Passage record. With an elapsed time of 5 days, 2 hours, 41 mins and 13 seconds, Rio100 knocked two hours off the record set in 2004 by Robert Miller, whose 139-foot Mari Cha IV finished with an elapsed time of 5 days, 5 hours, 38 minutes and 10 seconds.

The overall Pacific Cup was won by the Moore 24, Mas!. Double handers Mark English and Ian Rogers pulled off a grand slam, also taking honors in overall PHRF and the Kolea Division (Double Handed 1). They also broke the previous Moore 24 Pac Cup record of 11 days 9 hours, 48 minutes, 25 seconds that stood for 18 years.

Second in the Kolea Division and fifth overall in both PHRF and the Pacific Cup went to Rhys Balmer and Martin Gibson on another Moore 24, Evermoore. The duo also took the Best First Passage trophy which is awarded to the best passage by a “rookie” yacht and crew as determined by the Race Committee. In a hard fought battle for third, were Rowena Carlson and Robb Walker on Nozomi.

Second overall in the Pacific Cup and PHRF, and first in the North Sails Division (Double Handed 2) was the MORC30 Wolfpack, skippered by Melinda and Bill Erkelens. They were also awarded the Latitude 38 Performance Trophy which is awarded to the yacht with the most convincing win relative to its own division. Also in the North Sails Division, this year’s award for Best Prepared Yacht went to the Schumacher 28 Spadefoot, skippered by Christina and Justin Wolfe. This award is presented to the yacht, identified by the chief inspector, with input from all inspectors, that best demonstrates a thorough, thoughtful, and seamanlike preparation for the race including implementation of the Equipment Requirements. New this year, the Passage Nautical trophy for best performance by a Beneteau went to Charles Devanneaux and Fred Courouble on Sailing for ALS.

In the Honu Division (PHRF A), Walter Smith’s Cal 40, Redhead, came in first, with a third in both overall PHRF and the Pacific Cup. Redhead’s navigator, Rowan Fennell, was awarded the Henri Lloyd Navigator’s trophy. This coveted award is presented to the navigator of a division-winning yacht who is deemed the most skillful in navigation and routing by a panel comprised of all division-winning navigators. In second and third place respectively in the Honu Division were Kerry Sheehan’s Windswept Lady and Kit Wiegman’s Cassiopeia.

In the Weems & Plath Division (PHRF B), the J/42, Tiki J, took division honors as well as the Best Family Trophy. The Best Family Award goes to the best performing yacht crewed by family members. Skipper Scott Dickinson’s crew included his wife Kim Worsham, her brother Brad Worsham and their two sons Max, 12, and Cody, 9. Wayne Koide’s Encore was second in the division, and Bill Williams Viajante was third.

Placing first in the Alaska Airlines Division (PHRF C) was Shawn Ivie’s Express 37 Limitless, which also placed fourth in PHRF and fourth in the overall Pacific Cup. The division included three other Express 37s, but second went to the Farr 36 Sweet Okole who was in a tight race with Limitless for much of the crossing. Limitless was also awarded the Carl Schumacher Trophy for best performance by a Schumacher designed boat.

The Santa Cruz 50s swept the Pasha Hawaii Division (ORR D). J World’s Hula Girl came in first, setting a new Santa Cruz 50 Pac Cup record and coming in second in the ORR Group. J World’s Hula Girl also took home the inaugural Bill Lee “Wizard” perpetual trophy for best performance by a Bill Lee designed boat. Michael Moradzadeh’s Oaxaca and Shana Bagley Howe’s Adrenalin placed second and third in the division and third and fourth in ORR. Gib Black’s Chasch Mer was awarded the perpetual trophy for First Hawaiian Boat to Finish.

In the BMW of San Rafael Division (ORR E), Roy P. Disney’s Andrews 70 Pyewacket came in first, also nabbing top honors in the overall ORR Group. Edward Marez’s Santa Cruz 70 Buono Sera and Hector Velarde’s Andrews 70 Runaway were second and third in this division.

In other awards, the team trophy for best total performance by a three-boat team from a single yacht club went to Richmond Yacht Club’s trio Mas!, Rufless, and Wolfpack.

The Latitude 38 Cruising Division was not racing officially – but that didn’t mean they didn’t sail hard. Every boat that finished was awarded a trophy for some aspect of the race as noted in their log. Notably, Gene Scott, skipper of Agasea, was presented with the Seamanship Award, for coming to the aid of the J/124 Albion when she experienced chain plate failure.


Event detailsTrackerTeam blogsDivision splitsFacebook

Background: The Pacific Cup Yacht Club is responsible for organizing the biennial Pacific Cup, dubbed the “FUN race to Hawaii.” Since 1980, the Pacific Cup has been sailed from San Francisco Bay to Hawaii every other year, and since 1988 the finish has been at the warm and welcoming Kaneohe Yacht Club on the island of Oahu. With an emphasis on pre-race preparation for the 2070 nm race, PCYC’s volunteer membership has helped to ensure that thousands of racers have been delighted with their Pacific Cup experience.

Source: Pacific Cup Yacht Club

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.