Governor’s Cup gets underway

Published on July 18th, 2017

Corona del Mar, CA (July 18, 2017) – Racing began for the 12 teams competing in the 51st Annual Governor’s Cup International Junior Match Racing Championship. After seven flights in the first round robin, Harry Price (AUS) and Christophe Killian (USA) remain undefeated.

In last year’s 50th Anniversary “GovCup”, Killian and Price finished in the 3rd and 4th positions behind winner Nevin Snow and the world’s current top ranked match racer in the world, Sam Gilmour, but both Snow and Gilmour have “aged out” of the regatta which is limited to sailors under the age of 23. As a result, much was expected of the two and at least on day one, they lived up to the billing.

Conditions saw the morning southerly breeze of 6-7 knots building and shifting to the southwest and increasing to 10-12 knots – very typical conditions for Newport Beach.

As has become traditional in the Governor’s Cup, there are always some surprising races and today was no exception.

The youngest skipper in the event, 2017 U.S Youth Match Racing Champion David Wood, faced Killian and Price in his first two races. Despite the fact that Price, ranked #6 in the World Sailing Open (non-age limited) Match Racing Rankings, and Killian at #16 were heavily favored, Wood led each of those races as late as the last weather mark, losing both on the last leg.

Racing continues daily in Gov Cup 22s through July 22.

The following format is planned:
Stage 1 – A double round robin of all teams.
Stage 2 – A semi-final knockout of the top four teams from Stage 1.
Stage 3 – A final knockout of the top two teams from Stage 2.
Stage 4 – A petit final knockout of the other two teams from Stage 2.
Stage 5 – A consolation round for the teams finishing five through twelve from Stage 1.

2017 TEAMS
George Anyon (NZL), Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, 22
Crew: Matthew Hughes & Taylor Balogh

Will Boulden (AUS), Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, 21
Crew: Mark Spearman & Damian Garbowski

Clare Costanzo (AUS), Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Jessica Angus, Emma May & Hannah Lanz

Greiner Hobbs (USA), Davis Island Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Colton Carnevale & Noah Barrengos

Christophe Killian (USA), Balboa Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Harrison Vandervort & Jack Martin

James Pinder (UK), Cambridge University Cruising Club, 21
Crew: George Hopes, Jemima Lawson & Jamie Webb

Harry Price (AUS), Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, 21
Crew: Angus Williams & Cameron Seagreen

Leonard Takahashi (JPN), Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, 18
Crew: Ibuki Kolzuni & Josh Wijohn

Christopher Weis (USA), Del Rey Yacht Club, 21
Crew: Roberto Stevens & Dylan Finestone

Charlie Welsh (USA), Newport Harbor Yacht Club, 21
Crew: John Horton & Robert Garrett

Matt Whitfield (UK), Wessex Sailing Club, 20
Crew: Sophie Heritage & Ellie Meopham

David Wood (USA), Balboa Yacht Club, 16
Crew: Max Brennan & Catherine Reynolds

Source: BYC


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.