No Racing on Final Day of Laser Radial Worlds

Published on August 26th, 2017

Medemblik, Netherlands (August 26, 2017) – No races were sailed today at the 2017 Laser Radial World Championships, due to lack of wind. This concludes the Laser Radial World Championships, with ten races completed in six days.

The morning brought postponement on shore until about noon. Eager to complete the Final Series and hopeful for more breeze, all three fleets sailed out on the IJsselmeer in about 5-6 knots. The wind, however, gradually died and the AP flag was hoisted.

Everyone waited on the water until 15:00, after which no race could start on the final day. At 14:30, the Silver fleet was sent to shore, at 14:45 the Men’s fleet followed, and finally at 14:55, the Gold fleet headed in with Marit Boumeester (NED) and Marcin Rudawski (POL) named the 2017 Laser Radial World Champions.

“It’s amazing,” described Bouwmeester. “I so badly wanted to prove that I was worth my Olympic title, and to do it in my home country, to show our sport, to show myself, for the nation…it’s just an incredible feeling.”

With no races completed, the leaderboard remains unchanged and gold goes to familiar Champions. Bouwmeester took home her third title of Laser Radial World Champion, and Rudawski claimed his sixth Laser Radial World Championship. In the women’s division, Evi Van Acker (BEL) took silver, and Manami Doi (JPN) rounded out the podium with bronze. Behind Rudawski in the men’s fleet, Eliot Merceron (SUI) won silver, and Zac Littlwood (AUS) placed third with bronze.

Racing for the Laser Radial Women’s and Men’s World Championships was held August 21 to 26 in Medemblik, Netherlands. The two fleets of 100 women and 63 men representing 45 countries represented the best the class has to offer.

Women’s final results after 10 races, 2 discards:
1. Marit Bouwmeester NED 22pts
2. Evi Van Acker BEL 31pts
3. Manami Doi JPN 40pts
4. Mathilde de Kerangat FRA 60pts
5. Brenda Bowskill CAN 64pts
6. Maxime Jonker NED 68pts
7. Daphne van der Vaart NED 74pts
8. Viktorija Andrulyte LTU 81pts
9. Pauline Liebig GER 82pts
10. Agata Barwinska POL 84pts

Men’s final results after 10 races, 2 discards:
1. Marcin Rudawski POL 30pts
2. Eliot Merceron SUI 41pts
3. Zac Littlewood AUS 50pts
4. Maxime Mazard FRA 56pts
5. Daniil Krutskikh 66pts
6. Alfonso Fernández ESP 68pts
7. Nicolò Elena ITA 83pts
8. Nik Pletikos SLO 88pts
9. Scott Sydney SGP 92pts
10. Yoshihiro Suzuki JPN 95pts

Event detailsResultsFacebook

Source: ILCA

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.