Outstanding Performances in 2017

Published on October 15th, 2017

US Sailing is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards, widely acknowledged as the foremost individual sailing honors in the nation. The mission is to determine the male and female sailor that had the most outstanding on-the-water performance(s) during the 2017 calendar year.

For the 2016 competitive season, first-time winners Caleb Paine (San Diego, Calif.), Olympic Bronze Medalist, and Daniela Moroz (Lafayette, Calif.), IKA Formula Kite World Champion, were awarded the prestigious distinction.

Previous recipients who have earned the honor multiple times include, Ed Adams, Betsy Alison, Sally Barkow, Dave Curtis, Dennis Conner, JJ Fetter, Allison Jolly, John Kostecki, Buddy Melges, Lowell North, Jan O’Malley, Jane Pegel, Ken Read, Cory Sertl, Lynne Shore, Jody Starck, Anna Tunnicliffe and Ted Turner.

So who will win from the 2017 season? Scuttlebutt sought to rewind the year, focusing on world championship or other notable accomplishments, and came up with these possible candidates:

Steve Benjamin – Etchells World Champion
Senet Bischoff – Etchells Corinthian World Champion
Peter Duncan – J/70 World Champion
Marcus Eagan – Viper 640 North American Champion
Jonathan Farrar – IOD World Champion
Drew Freides – Melges 20 World Champion
Peter Galloway – Sonar Word Champion
Mike Holt – 505 World Champion
Terry Hutchinson – RC44, Farr 40 World Champion (tactician)
John Kostecki – TP52 World Champion (tactician)
Marc Jacobi – Aero World Champion
Jonathan McKee – Tasar World Champion
Morgan Reeser – Melges 20 World Champion (tactician)
Alex Roepers – Farr 40 World Champion
Carl Smit – 505 World Champion (crew)
Peter Wagner – J/111 World Champion

Carmen Cowles – International 420 US Champion (overall)
Libby Mckee – Tasar World Champion (crew)
Daniela Moroz  – Women’s Formula Kite World Champion
Erika Reineke – Women’s College Sailor of the Year
Megan Ploch – Women’s Keelboat Championship
Charlotte Rose – Laser Radial Youth Women’s World Champion (3rd place)
Alie Toppa – 29er US Champion (overall)

Note: Individuals are winning skipper unless otherwise stated.

This list is far from complete, so please submit your suggestions. Reminder this is not a team award so only individuals can be nominated. Send your submission and their accomplishment(s) to info@sailingscuttlebutt.com.

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.