Visit Pensacola

College Sailing: Fall Season Update

Published on November 1st, 2017

Chris Klevan provides this week’s update on activity in the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA).

The War Memorial regatta serves as the conference championship for the Mid Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association (MAISA). This iteration of the historic event was held on Seneca Lake, home to the Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team in New York. In an event that lived up to its namesake, the War delivered intense competition and impressive conditions. Seneca Lake showcased 20-25+ knots and 3 foot waves as sailing started on Saturday.

“The War is always a bench-mark type event, all the teams came to play,” said Brian Clancy, head coach of the Cornell University and HWS grad ‘06. “We had a good forecast for breeze and the regatta was the best run War in memory.”

Nationally #4 ranked Hobart and William Smith Colleges won the event at home by winning both divisions. Senior Greiner Hobbs with Kyle Easton ‘20 and Lindsey Kloc ‘19 dominated A-Division with 37 points after 12 races sailed, finishing first or second in eight of the 12 races sailed. Sophomore Hector Guzman with Noah Barrengos ‘18 and Maya Weber ‘20 won B-Division narrowly over #1 Georgetown’s Will Logue ‘20, Roger Dorr ‘18, Jack Chrysler ‘20, and Haley Shea ‘19.

“It is always nice to win on Seneca Lake, we have a great venue that is special to all HWS Sailors – it’s our home,” said HWS head coach Scott Iklé. “We are a strong 420 team and the conditions this weekend favored teams with good boat speed. There was a little bit of everything this weekend, so teams were tested through the full range of conditions. The top teams were strong in all conditions.”

The War, like all conference championships, served as the qualifier for Atlantic Coast Championship to be held at SUNY Maritime College on November 11-12. The top-8 finishing positions will move on to the ACCs. #4 HWS, #1 Georgetown, #15 George Washington, SUNY, #13 St. Mary’s, #12 Kings Point, Cornell and #9 Navy were the top-8, in finishing order.

“Hobart and William Smith won with consistent hard work in the breeze. It was clear that they were well prepared and committed… they wanted to win,” said Clancy who’s team, Cornell qualified on the good side of a 3-way tie for the last two spots. This is the first time in the program’s history that qualifying berths were found in both the Coed and the Women’s ACCs.

The top of MAISA is looking strong headed to the fall championship.
The Victorian Coffee Urn Trophy is the New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association’s Women’s Championship and the qualifier for the Women’s Atlantic Coast Championship to be held at Connecticut College on November 11-12. Of the 16 teams entered at the event, the top 8 finishing teams move on to the ACCs.

#1 Yale University won the event handily (122 points) due to a second place A-Division finish for Senior Kasey Klingler with Claudia Loiacono ‘21 and a dominating performance by Louisa Nordstrom ‘20 and Katharina Knapp ‘18 in B-Division. The Bulldog’s B-Division tandem won by 31 points after 16 races sailed, posting 7 bullets, finishing with 53 points.

#2 Coast Guard’s senior Dana Rohde with Maddie Ekin ‘20 won A-Division with 61 points, 8 points ahead of Klingler and Loiacono. The Bear’s A-Division boat finished first or second in 11 of the 16 races sailed and Coast Guard finished 3rd overall, with 221 points. #8 Boston College finished second overall with 177 points.

#4 Dartmouth finished fourth, #3 Brown finished 5th, #17 MIT 6th, Northeastern 7th and #10 Connecticut College finished 8th, capturing the final ACC-qualifying position.
#3 College of Charleston dominated a SAISA (South Atlantic) Fall Coed regatta (32 points) where the top-3 finishers advance to the Atlantic Coast Championship. Stefano Peschiera ‘18 and Grace McCarthy ‘18 won A-Division with 15 points after 12 races, finishing 2nd in 3 of the 12 races, all firsts besides those 3 blemishes. Augie Dale ‘19 with Katherine Lounsbury ‘20 and Carter Cameron ‘19 won B-Division in similar fashion, 17 points after 12 races. Dale, Lounsbury and Cameron also won all but 3 races.

Eckerd finished second with 94 points and Jacksonville, 3rd with 97 points.
#10 Massachussetts Institute of Technology won the 77th Professor Schell Trophy, held at MIT. The home-team was extremely impressive at the New England Conference Championship, winning both divisions and the regatta by 64 points after 18 races sailed in each of the two divisions.

Senior Ty Ingram with Sameena Shaffeeullah ‘19 won A-Division with 87 points, finishing only 3 races outside the top-10. Trevor Long ‘19 with Julia Cho ‘20 and Marcus Abate ‘20 won B-Division with 92 points. Like Ingram and Shaffeeullah, only had 3 races outside the top 10.

#8 Roger Williams University finished second overall with 243 points. #2 Yale University finished 3rd overall with 260 points. #10 Boston University finished 4th, #6 Dartmouth College in 5th, #17 Tufts finished 6th and #20 Brown finished 7th, capturing the 7th and final qualifying spot allotted to NEISA for the Coed Atlantic Coast Championship.

Notably, #14 Harvard, #5 Boston College finished 8th and 9th respectively, serving as teams upset and on the outside looking in of the Atlantic Coast Championship.

Background: The Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) is the governing authority for sailing competition at colleges and universities throughout the United States and in some parts of Canada. There are seven Conferences that schedule and administer regattas within their established geographic regions, with ICSA hosting two national championships in the fall (singlehanded, match racing) and three national championships in the spring (team, women’s, coed).

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.