Safety education now required in California
Published on January 3rd, 2018
Welcome to the new California, where you can smoke weed just for fun but there’s a lot more changing than just marijuana sales in 2018. Now the ‘Golden State’ will require a California Boater Card.
As of January 1, 2018, California’s mandatory boating safety education law goes into effect, though it is being phased in by age. For the first year, the law applies to persons 20 years of age or younger, with 2019 focused on those 25 years of age or younger.
Operation of any type of motorized vessel on California waterways (including powered sailboats) will require the operator to pass an approved boating safety examination and carry a California Boater Card.
As is typically the case, it is the actions of a few that now impact everyone with regulations and additional fees, but maybe now with the new pot law, which allows anyone over 21 years to buy and use marijuana, a bit of forced common sense might be well-timed.
Full details… click here.