NHYC Thunder Wins Baldwin Cup

Published on April 14th, 2018

Newport Beach, CA (April 14, 2018) – After wind delays, tight racing, and a finish that raced the sunset, NHYC Thunder has re-taken the 2018 Baldwin Cup Team Race (BCTR). After a humbling defeat from NHYC Lightning last year in the semis, NHYC Thunder has won it all in three races against 2013 Champions Larchmont YC to win the 2018 Baldwin Cup Team Race.

A first to two wins Finals, Larchmont won the first race, but NHYC Thunder fought back to win the second. Competitive down to the very end, Thunder showed their steely discipline to win the final race of the regatta, and their prize.

The Newport Harbor Yacht Club Thunder team who showed perseverance and discipline to win the whole shebang is Brian Bissell, Perry Bissell, Justin Law, Randall Hause, Scott Hogan, Tim Hogan, Tyler Macdonald, and Reid Vitarelli.

This year’s Baldwin Cup Team Race saw: old rivalries with winners often being determined in the last 10 feet of the race; substantially heavier air than usual; an unusual Harbor 20 dismasting (the talented Newport Harbor Yacht Club pit crew had the boat back commission within 12 hours); and the best stadium style racing in the U.S. just feet off the dock with over 200 spectators.

“This is the year that we really practiced hard,” said Justin Law of Team Thunder. “Our team was enthusiastic and focused. I want to congratulate Larchmont Yacht Club on a great regatta and all of our competitors, especially those that traveled far. This is an amazing event and couldn’t happen without the help of all the volunteers. There is nothing like having a home town crowd cheering right from the docks.”

Teams this year included: The Annapolis Yacht Club (Annapolis, Md.), Balboa Yacht Club (Newport Beach, Calif.), Yacht Club Costa Smeralda (Porto Cervo, Italy), Eastern Yacht Club (Marblehead, Mass.), Larchmont Yacht Club (Larchmont, N.Y.), New York Yacht Club, (New York, N.Y.), Royal Thames Yacht Club (London, U.K.), St. Francis Yacht Club (San Francisco), San Diego Yacht Club (San Diego), Southern Yacht Club (New Orleans, La.), Newport Harbor Yacht Club Lightning (Newport Beach, Calif.), and Newport Harbor Yacht Club Light Thunder (Newport Beach, Calif.)

Results Stage 1

Results Stage 2

Results Stage 3

Event detailsCrew ListScoreboard

Source: Chris Ann Goddard


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.