Penultimate day at Kiel Week

Published on June 23rd, 2018

Kiel, Germany (June 23, 2018) – The fourth day at Kieler Woche for the Olympic fleets started out extremely windy, forcing the race committee to postpone many of the fleets later in the day. Here are the fleets that completed today’s racing before 6pm (local). For other results check the official scoreboards via the link at the bottom of this report

470 Women
Two German crews have led the standings all this week in the 470 Women’s fleet but slipped down the order today. Maria Bozi and Rafailina Klonaridou of Greece now take the lead with a five-point advantage over Agnieska Skrzypulec and Jolanta Ogar of Poland. Sitting in third overall, Silvia Mas and Patricia Cantero of Spain are just one point behind the Poles.

470 Men
Anton Dahlberg and Fredrik Bergström have sailed a very consistent series in unpredictable conditions, the Swedes rewarded with a three-point advantage over the Australians, Mat Belcher and Will Ryan. France’s Kevin Peponnet and Jeremie Mion move into the top three for the first time this week, a point ahead of Luke Patience and Chris Grube of Great Britain.

49er Men
Yesterday the top four teams were all within a point of each other but the gaps began to open up today after two testing races in the shifty conditions. Olympic Champion of 2008, Jonas Warrer crewed by Jakob Jensen, scored 8,1 today, moving the Danish crew to a nine-point lead over the Spanish brothers in second, Federico/ Arturo Alonso. Just 0.6 points behind them are another Spanish team in third place, Diego Botin/ Iago Lopez.

Laser Standard
Series leader Elliot Hanson admits he played a ‘get out of jail’ card today. In the first race the British sailor finished 17th overall and things looked even worse at the start of the next race when he was forced to take a 720 penalty soon after the start gun. “Luckily I had the opportunity to sail low on the reach when the rest of the fleet went high and I managed to pick up about 25 places before the next mark.” Hanson burst into the lead, won the race, and now holds a three-point lead over Philipp Buhl from Kiel. It looks like tomorrow’s Medal Race will see some match racing between the Briton and the German, while 13 points further back will be a battle for bronze between Finland’s Kaarle Tapper and Croatia’s Tonci Stipanovic, the Rio 2016 silver medallist.

Nacra 17
John Gimson and Anna Burnet go into the final day maintaining their lead over the Nacra 17 fleet. The British duo now hold a 6 point advantage over Jason Waterhouse and Lisa Darmanin in second place. A third place in today’s final race has lifted Austria’s Thomas Zajac and Barbara Matz to third overall. However, it’s not much of a points gap back to fourth and fifth place, respectively the New Zealand and Danish teams.

Other Fleets
At the time of writing, other fleets were still to complete their racing for today. Maxime Jonker of the Netherlands continues to lead the Laser Radials and the Dutch women have also been going well in the 49erFX. In the Finn the battle was shaping up to be a battle between two Kiwis and two Brits.

Event detailsResultsFacebook

Eight of the ten Olympic fleets (no boards) are racing from June 20 to 24. Here are the teams entered from Canada, Mexico, and USA:

470 M (1): Stu McNay/ Dave Hughes (USA)
470 W (1): Kathleen Tocke/ Charlie Bess (USA)
49er (7): William Jones/ Evan DePaul (CAN), Ryan Wood/ Andrew Wood (CAN), Nevin Snow/ Max Agnese (USA), Judge Ryan/ Hans Henken (USA), Andrew Mollerus/ ? (USA), Ian Barrows/ Mitchell Kiss (USA), Chris Rast/ Trevor Burd (USA)
49erFX (3): Alexandra Ten Hove/ Nariah Millen (CAN), Stephanie Roble/ Margaret Shea (USA), Lucy Wilmot/ Nathan Houseberg (USA)
Finn (4): Tom Ramshaw (CAN), Kyle Martin (CAN), Caleb Paine (USA), Luke Muller (USA)
Laser (14): Norman Struthers (CAN), Luke Ruitenberg (CAN), Robert Juhasz (CAN), Hugh Macrae (CAN), Liam Bruce (CAN), Noah Collinson (CAN), Matti Muru (CAN), Forrest Wachholz (CAN), Robert Davis (CAN), Justin Norton (CAN), Fillah Karim (CAN), Yanic Gentry (MEX), Charlie Buckingham (USA), Darius Mienville (USA)
Laser Radial (3): Clara Gravely (CAN), Coralie Vittecoq (CAN), Paige Railey (USA)
Nacra 17 (3): Riley Gibbs/ Louisa Chafee (USA), Ravi Parent/ Christina Persson (USA), Sarah Newberry/ David Liebenberg (USA)

Source: Andy Rice

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.