Game time for College Nationals

Published on May 20th, 2019

The 2018-19 season for the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) comes to a close as the best teams in the USA vie for three national titles – Women’s Dinghy, Team Race, and Coed Dinghy – on May 21 to 31 in Newport, RI.

First up is the Sperry Women’s Nationals (May 21-24) which begins with the first two days of racing to be the Semifinals, which is divided into two 18-team regattas. The top nine teams from each group will then advance to the Finals Round – an 18-boat regatta, which will take place on the last two days of the championship.

All teams have qualified from one of seven ICSA conferences with racing to be sailed on Newport and Narragansett Bay in LaserPerformance Club Flying Juniors (FJs) and Z420s. Here is how the 36 teams have been divided:

Women’s Eastern Semifinals:
Boston College, Bowdoin College, Brown University, Eckerd College, Fordham University, George Washington University, Georgetown University, Harvard University, Stanford University, Texas A&M, Tulane University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, UC Santa Barbara, University of Michigan, University of Pennsylvania, University of South Florida, University of Washington.

Women’s Western Semifinals:
Boston University, College of Charleston, Cornell University, Dartmouth University, Hobart & William Smith Colleges, Jacksonville University, MIT, Northwestern University, Old Dominion University, St. Mary’s College, Tufts University, UC Berkeley, University of Minnesota, University of Rhode Island, University of Southern California, University of Texas, Western Washington University, Yale University.

Event detailsEastern resultsWestern resultsFacebook


2019 Spring Nationals
May 21-24 – Women’s Dinghy
May 25-27 – Team Race
May 28-31 – Coed Dinghy

Live online coverage will be provided which typically covers the final day of the women’s, the final round of eight and final four of team racing, and the last day of coed semifinals along with both days of the finals. Specific details about the broadcast TBA.

The 2018-19 season for the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) held the Match Racing Nationals and Singlehanded Nationals during the fall season, with the final three national titles on May 21 to 31 in Newport, RI.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.