Christchurch wins ISSA Team Racing title

Published on May 26th, 2019

Christchurch School (Christchurch, VA) topped the 12-team field to win the High School Team Racing Nationals on May 25-26 in Portland, Maine.

After a slow start in the qualifying round, the Seahorses finished strong at 8-3 to advance to the championship double round where they were nearly perfect at 5-1.

Winning team members were Boyd Bragg ’19, Benton Amthor ’19, Nathan Smith ’20, Mariana Guzman Casas ’19, Jeronimo Guzman ’21, Reese Bragg ’21, Anna Flynn ’20, Louie LaFevre ’17, and Carson Rozell ’19.

Defending champions Point Loma HS (San Diego, CA) were second followed by Ransom Everglades School (Miami, FL).

Event detailsScoringFacebook

Northwest (1): Olympia HS (Olympia, WA)
Pacific Coast (2): Point Loma HS (San Diego, CA); Newport Harbor HS (Newport Beach, CA)
New England (2): The Hotchkiss School (Lakeville, CT); Tabor Academy (Marion, MA)
Mid Atlantic (2): Christchurch School (Christchurch, VA); Severn HS (Annapolis, MD)
South Atlantic (2): Antilles School (St. Thomas, VI); Ransom Everglades School (Miami, FL)
Midwest (2): Minnetonka HS (Minnetonka, MN); Grosse Pointe South HS (Grosse Pointe Farms, MI)
Southeast (1): Clear Falls HS (League City, TX)

ISSA (Interscholastic Sailing Association) holds annual National championships in singlehanded during the fall season with double handed and team racing in the spring season.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.