New England dominates Coed Dinghy Semifinal stage

Published on May 29th, 2019

Newport, RI (May 29, 2019) – The Semifinal stage of the Gill Coed Championship was completed today, reducing the field of 36 teams that represented the seven districts of the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association. After 18-team fleets completed 14 races in separate Western and Eastern Semifinals, the top nine in each group now advance to the championship round on May 30-31.

With six more races completed today in winds that began at 12 knots but decreased during the day, the qualified teams represent four of the seven districts: New England (9), Mid Atlantic (5), South Atlantic (2), and Pacific Coast (2).

In the Eastern Semis, it was #1 ranked Stanford that topped the group as their A-Division team of Jacob Rosenberg ’20, Romain Screve ’21, Meg Gerli ’19, Kathryn Booker ’19, and Sammy Pickell ’22 were fifth and their B-Division team won with Wiley Rogers ’22, Telis Athanasopoulos Yogo ’22, Mathew Hogan ’21, Victoria Thompson ’21, and Taylor Kirkpatrick ’20.

Winning A-Division was the Jacksonville University team of Alfonso Garcia Bringas ’20 with Jack Gower ’20, and Daniel Ofarril ’22.

In the Western Semis, #8 ranked Hobart and William Smith Colleges dominated as their A-Division team of Hector Guzman ’20, Jake Vickers ’22, Charles Carraway ’22, and Maya Weber ’20 won as did their B-Division team of Charles Miller ’19, Aidan Morgan ’21, Kyle Easton ’20, and Lindsey Kloc ’19.

Tomorrow the scoreboard is wiped clean and racing intensifies as the top 18 teams compete for the national championship title and the Henry A. Morrs Memorial Trophy.

Eastern Semifinal Results (Top 10 of 18; 14 races)
1. Stanford University, 157
2. Brown University, 159
3. St. Mary’s College of Maryland, 176
4. Boston University, 179
5. U. S. Naval Academy, 188
6. Tufts University, 192
7. Dartmouth College, 209
8. Bowdoin College, 214
9. Jacksonville University, 226
10. Fordham University, 245

Western Semifinal Results (Top 10 of 18; 14 races)
1. Hobart and William Smith Colleges, 102
2. Yale University, 145
3. Boston College, 150
4. College of Charleston, 160
5. Georgetown University, 186
6. Connecticut College, 193
7. U. S. Coast Guard Academy, 194
8. Old Dominion University, 219
9. University of California at Santa Barbara, 259
10. Cornell University, 261

Event detailsEastern SemifinalsWestern SemifinalsFacebook

2019 Spring Nationals
May 21-24 – Women’s Dinghy
May 25-27 – Team Race
May 28-31 – Coed Dinghy

Live coverage will include:
May 23, half day of Women’s coverage.
May 24, full day of Women’s coverage and awards.
May 25, half to 3/4 day of Team Race coverage, release of Women’s recap video.
May 26, full day of Team Race coverage.
May 27, full day of Team Race coverage and awards.
May 28, release of Team Racing recap video.
May 29, full day of Coed coverage.
May 30, full day of Coed coverage.
May 31, full day of Coed coverage and awards.
June 3, release of Coed recap video.

For live coverage… click here.

The 2018-19 season for the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) held the Match Racing Nationals and Singlehanded Nationals during the fall season, with the final three national titles on May 21 to 31 in Newport, RI.

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.