Hall of Fame reveals 2020 Inductees

Published on June 23rd, 2020

Newport, RI (June 23, 2020) – The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) announced today nine sailors comprising its 10th anniversary class of inductees.

The Class of 2020 includes:
James E. Buttersworth, the renowned 19th century maritime painter;
Sandy Douglass, designer of the Thistle, Highlander and Flying Scot one-design boats;
Robbie Haines Jr., Olympic gold-medalist and world champion;
Bill Mattison, national and world champion sailor and iceboater;
Dave Perry, leading racer, coach, judge and author;
John Rousmaniere, celebrated writer, sailor, historian and authority on seamanship and boating safety;
Hoyle and Diane Schweitzer, whose efforts made windsurfing a worldwide pastime;

• The 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award winner is Briggs Cunningham, Jr., champion car racer, yachtsman, and benefactor to many sailing endeavors.

“Honoring the remarkable achievements of the Class of 2020 is a fitting way to celebrate the 10th anniversary of our inductions,” said Gus Carlson, president of the National Sailing Hall of Fame. “These sailors reflect the breadth of sailing in our country, embody the commitment to excellence that few possess and provide inspiration for generations of sailors to come.”

The members of the class of 2020 join 81 current Hall of Famers to be featured at the National Sailing Hall of Fame’s new home in Newport, R.I., scheduled to open in late of Spring 2022. For more on the inductees, please visit: nshof.org/hall-of-fame.

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 class will be formally celebrated virtually on Saturday, September 12, 2020. A traditional Induction Ceremony is being planned for September 2021 in Newport, R.I. and will celebrate both the Classes of 2020 and 2021.

The inductees were nominated by sailors from across the U.S. Nominations were reviewed by a selection committee comprised of representatives from the NSHOF Board, previous inductees, the sailing media, the sailing industry, community sailing, a maritime museum, the cruising community and US Sailing. Nominations are accepted year-round at nshof.org/nominations. The deadline for Class of 2021 nominees is January 31.

Nominees must be American citizens, 55 years of age or older, who have made significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the U.S. at a national or international level in the following categories:

Sailing: Recognizing achievements made on the water as a sailboat racer, cruiser or offshore sailor.
Technical: Recognizing those who have significantly contributed to the technical aspects of sailing. Examples include designers, boat builders, sailmakers, etc.
Contributor: Recognizing those who have made other significant contributions to the American sailing experience. Examples include teachers, coaches, administrators, media (including authored works, TV, film, etc.), artists, musicians, promoters and organizers.

Nominees for the Lifetime Achievement Award must be American citizens, 55 years of age or older, who have achieved success in sailing and outside of sailing and have given back to the sport in some significant manner. Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are selected by the NSHOF Board of Directors.


From left: James E. Buttersworth, Sandy Douglass, Robbie Haines Jr., Bill Mattison.

From left: Dave Perry, John Rousmaniere, Hoyle and Diane Schweitzer, Briggs Cunningham, Jr.

About National Sailing Hall of Fame:
The National Sailing Hall of Fame & Museum was founded in 2004 in Annapolis, MD as a non-profit educational institution dedicated to preserving the history of sailing and its impact on American culture; honoring those who have made outstanding contributions to the sport; demonstrating its value as a hands-on tool for scholastic and life skills learning; and inspiring and encouraging sailing development and participation.

Recognizing Americans who have made outstanding contributions to the sport is central to the mission of NSHOF, with the first class of inductees held in 2011. The organization purchased in 2019 the historic Armory Building on Thames Street in Newport, R.I. where a home to honor the heroes of American sailing will be created; preserving the sport’s past while engaging the next generation in its future.

Interactive educational exhibits will provide real-world applications of STEAM concepts that come alive through sailing; and visitors of all ages, non-sailors and sailors alike, will experience the magic that happens when wind and water meet. For more information, please visit: www.nshof.org.

comment banner

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.