Visit Pensacola

Game time for JJ Giltinan Championship

Published on March 5th, 2021

Sydney, Australia (March 5, 2021) – Despite winning the last season’s Australian 18ft Skiff Championship in the then new tech2 skiff, Jack Macartney’s 2020-2021 Season team has gone up to another level of performance and consistency as it has taken all three major championships so far this season.

Macartney, Charlie Wyatt, and Lewis Brake have been nearly faultless with their teamwork in every race since the season began on October 11, but realize that they will have to maintain the standard if tech2 is to give the trio their first JJ Giltinan Championship victory when racing begins tomorrow.

Known as the unofficial World Championship for this elite skiff class, the two biggest threats to the tech2 team’s Giltinan hopes are Smeg and Yandoo Winning Group (formerly known as Winning Group).

Smeg’s skipper Michael Coxon ‘retired’ from the 18s after winning his third JJ Giltinan Championship in 2017, but has shown over recent weeks that the hunger is there to add to his already impressive record.

Along with his two former Giltinan-winning Smeg team mates Ricky Bridge and Trent Barnabas, Coxon pushed the red-hot tech2 team to the limit in the recently completed Australian Championship. Only one point separated the two teams through most of the nine-race championship, which was only decided in the final race.

The other big threat to tech2’s favoritism for the 2021 JJ is John Winning Jr’s Yandoo Winning Group, with his crew of Seve Jarvin and Sam Newton.

Business commitments as well as other sailing commitments for all members of the team have been reflected in the race results column on the scoreboard, but there is no doubt that the talent is there to become the 2021 champions.

Any team with a world championship-winning skipper, an America’s Cup-winner, and crew members who have already won 14 JJ Giltinan championships must be a major threat in any regatta in the world.

Over the season to date, the ‘big three’ teams have established a slight edge over a large group of challengers for the 2021 crown, but last weekend’s final hit-out produced at least two more strong candidates.

On February 28, Keagan York, who has been around the top five placegetters in the past three JJs, won the final race of the Australian 18 Footers League’ s Club Championship in Finport Finance with Matt Stenta and Phil Marshall.

In the same race, first-season team Jim Colley, Shaun Connor, and Harry Bethwaite finished third in Shaw and Partners Financial Services after leading for some time against the very strong, and experienced opposition.

They are definitely a team to watch as they have recorded two second placings, one third and a fourth placing in recent championship races.

Four other teams with strong credentials are Noakesailing (Sean Langman), The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines (Aron Everett), Andoo (Marcus Ashley-Jones), and Yandoo (John Winning).


JJ Giltinan Championship, Race Dates:
March 6, Race 1
March 7, Race 2
March 9, Races 3 and 4
March 10, Races 5 and 6
March 11, Race 7
March 13, Race 8
March 14, Race 9

JJ Giltinan Championship, List of Entries:
• tech2 – Jack Macartney, Charlie Wyatt, Lewis Brake
• Yandoo Winning Group – John Winning Jr., Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton
• Smeg – Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge, Trent Barnabas
• Finport Finance – Keagan York, Matt Stenta, Phil Marshall
• The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines – Aron Everett, Courtney Mahar, Charlie Gundy
• Andoo Marcus – Ashley-Jones, Cam Gundy, Jeronimo Harrison
• Noakesailing – Sean Langman, Ed Powys, Josh Porebski
• Yandoo – John Winning, Fang Warren, Michael Kennedy
• Shaw and Partners Financial Services – Jim Colley, Shaun Connor, Harry Bethwaite
• The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone – Jordan Girdis, Lachlan Doyle, Tom Quigley
• Bird and Bear – Nick Daly, John Walton, tba
• – Simon Nearn, Brandon Buyink, Kurt Fatouros
• Vintec – Tom Cunich, Alex Marinelli, Zac Barnabas
• Queenslander – Dave Hayter, Ben Roxburgh, Elliott Mahar
• Rag & Famish Hotel – Anthony Young, Matt Pearce, Phil Harmer
• Birkenhead Point Marina – Tim Westwood, Alex Chittenden, Felix Daverio
• Noakes Blue Yvette Heritage – Rory Cox, Oliver Scott-Mackie
• Lazarus Capital Partners – Lachlan Steel, Jerome Watts, Matt Doyle
• Ilve Pedro Vozone – Cam Walker, Paddy Bannon
• Lumix – Alex Watson, Laughlin Prentice, Matt Rogers

Source: Frank Quealey, Australian 18 Footers League Ltd.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.