Applications open for World Sailing Athletes’ Commission

Published on May 21st, 2021

World Sailing is inviting new athlete candidates to represent their Olympic or Paralympic/Para Sailing event on the World Sailing Athletes’ Commission.

The Commission is made up of eight members, all of whom have backgrounds in one of the 10 Olympic Sailing events and current Para Sailing Events.

Five new members will replace five retiring members, who have served their eight-year term, at the elections, which are set to take place during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Four of these new members will be selected by the sailors themselves, while one further member will be appointed by the World Sailing President, to ensure there is a good balance between regions, genders and events.

Any Olympian or Paralympian from the current or the immediately preceding Olympics and Paralympics may be a candidate for election, as well as Para Sailing athletes from the 2018 and 2019 World Championships), no candidate shall be from the same Event or MNA as an existing World Sailing Athletes Commission member who will remain a member after the election.

Five spaces can be filled by representatives made up from the following classes ICLA 6, ILCA 7, 49er, 49erFX 470 M, RS:X M, Finn, and the current Para Sailing Classes.

(Where a World Sailing Athletes Commission candidate has competed in more than one Event, it is the Event at his / her last Olympic or Paralympics/Para Sailing World Championships that counts).

The athletes on the Commission will represent all sailors, rather than acting as a representative of a specific Class or Event.

As per the IOC Athletes’ Commission, the term of membership will be eight years. Due to the issues presented by the global COVID-19 pandemic and the rescheduling of Tokyo 2020, the usual term of appointment has been shortened by one year, to an appointment period running from 2021 to 2028. This is in order to still remain in line with the IOC Athletes’ Commission recommendations, as well as the adjusted event calendar.

The following athletes will be remaining on the Athletes’ Commission to serve the remainder of their term:
• Jo Aleh (NZL), current Chair – 470 Women
• Sofia Bekatorou (GRE) – Nacra 17
• Maayan Davidovich (ISR) – RS:X Women

The five athletes who are stepping down from the Athletes’ Commission as their term comes to an end:
• Juan Ignacio Maegli (GUA)
• Vasilij Zbogar (SLO)
• Yann Rocherieux (FRA)
• Lijia Xu (CHN)
• Jens Kroker (GER)

To send an application, click here to download the form, and return it to the World Sailing Executive Office to Maddie Dunn no later than 17:00 (UTC) June 20, 2021. Voting is due to commence at the beginning of July.

About the World Sailing Athletes’ Commission
The role of the World Sailing Athletes’ Commission is to act as the link between active Olympic and Paralympic sailors and the Federation.

The World Sailing Athletes’ Commission are to meet annually in October in the World Sailing office (or electronically or at another agreed location). At its first meeting, the World Sailing Athletes’ Commission will elect its Chair for a three-year term.

The members of the Athletes’ Commission are expected to represent the interests of Olympic and Paralympic sailors to World Sailing, and to encourage open communication and feedback from the sailors.

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.