Visit Pensacola

2022 2.4mR CanAm Championship Series

Published on April 2nd, 2022

The 2022 2.4 mR CanAm Championship Series finished with its fourth and fifth events in Port Charlotte, FL. Coinciding with the reopening of the the US-Canada border, those north of the border showed up in force.

On March 28-29, a six-race series began with light air but then built through the two days. Dee Smith emerged victorious followed by Bruce Millar and Allen Liebel in a 22-boat fleet.

For the final event on March 31-April 2, which was also the US Nationals, a howling 25 knot breeze had only seven of the 25 entries competing on the first day. However, the fleet showed up en-mass thereafter with a mix of Canadians, Americans, new fleet members, and experienced sailors.

Canadian Bruce Millar won Can Am 5, followed by Jeff Linton and Allen Liebel. Linton was crowned US National champion as the top finishing US boat in the fleet followed by Dee Smith and Tony Pocklington.

These final two events rounded out the winter 5-event Can Am Series. While the early part of the series was hampered by a lack of Canadian competitors, there was no lack of rivalry for the the podium. In the end Dee Smith won, followed by Tony Pocklington and Rudy Trejo. For complete results, click here.

Series informationCanAm #4CanAm #5

2.4 Meter CanAm Championship Series
Jan 24-25 – CanAm # 1
Jan 27-29 – CanAm # 2
Feb 19-20 – CanAm # 3 (Edge Sailing Midwinters)
Mar 28-29 – CanAm # 4
Mar 31-Apr 2 – CanAm # 5 (US Nationals)

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.