Visit Pensacola

US Para Sailing Champs on Lake Michigan

Published on August 5th, 2022

Thirteen teams will take to the water for the 2022 US Sailing Para Championship on August 5-7 in Chicago, IL. The championship, hosted by the Judd Goldman Adaptive Sailing Foundation and embedded within the Independence Cup (first sailed in 1986), includes three divisions: singlehanded (2.4mR), doublehanded (Independence 20), and triplehanded (Sonar).

The Judd Goldman Adaptive Sailing Foundation is a Chicago-based non-profit organization that enables adults with a disability as well as at-risk youth to learn the sport of sailing, and the Independence Cup has a longstanding history of providing instructional opportunities and competition for adaptive sailors in the United States and Canada.

Entries include Maureen McKinnon, a two-time Paralympian who was part of the Gold medal winning SKUD 18 team in Beijing 2008, and Bronze medalist Chris Murphy (Sonar) in the Atlanta 1996 Games along with 2019 event winners Charles McClure (triplehanded) and Matt Koblenzer (singlehanded).

“I look forward to coming to Chicago every summer because the Judd Goldman group is so accommodating,” said Murphy, who will be competing in the Independence 20. “They have a great fleet of boats and a terrific group of volunteers who make sure all your needs are met.”

This year, to increase participation and competition, the triplehanded division will allow one able-bodied crew member (excluding the helmsman) to compete alongside their disabled teammates.


Source: US Sailing

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.