Match Race Nationals in San Diego

Published on November 10th, 2022

The final college championship of the fall season comes west as the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association holds the 2022 Match Race Nationals on November 11-13 in San Diego, CA. Ten teams will compete in J/22s amid the city skyline on San Diego Bay.

Coming home to defend his 2021 victory is Yale University skipper Jack Egan along with his title team of Nicholas Davies, Megan Grimes, and Christophe Chaumont. While runner-up Navy is missing this year, 2021 Petit finalists Coast Guard and Georgetown, led by 2022 Youth Match Racing World Champion Jeffrey Petersen, will look to take another step toward the finals.


Competing teams:
• Tulane University: Cameron Giblin, William Keenan, Abi Borggaard, Mia Hanes
• Stanford University: Wiley Rogers, AnnaClare Sole, Jack Baldwin, Konstantinos Michalopoulos
• Tufts University: Jack Flores, Patrick Mulcahy, Cali Salinas, Harper McKerrow
• University of Wisconsin Madison: Jonathan Bailey, Jack Schweda, Gavin Dempsey, Kate Thickens
• Brown University: Liam O’Keefe, Hunter Zonnenberg, Hannah Sellers, Thomas Styron
• Georgetown University: Jeffrey Petersen, Scott Mais, Eva Fortunato, Joseph Coyne
• College of Charleston: Axel Stordahl, Lawson Levine, Lucy Klempen, Garrett Grenauer
• US Merchant Marine Academy: John McKenna, Lars Osell, Sunrae Sturmer, Jack Vanderhorst
• Yale University: Jack Egan, Nicholas Davies, Megan Grimes, Christophe Chaumont
• US Coast Guard Academy: Nate Olmsted, Matt Kickhafer, Jake Earnshaw, Sydney Motherway

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.