Visit Pensacola

Savasana wins 2022-23 J/70 Winter Series

Published on February 5th, 2023

Twenty-eight J/70 teams qualified for the 2022-23 J/70 Winter Series title after they competed in at least two of the three events hosted by Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa, FL. For the fifth straight time, Brian Keane’s Savasana was atop the Series leaderboard with crew Thomas Barrows, Ron Weed and Conner Harding. Cate Muller Terhune’s Casting Couch was in the runner-up position, followed by Sean O’Brien’s McFly.

Multi-US Corinthian National Champions aboard USA1516 exceled in the amateur division with David Kerr, Lee Sackett, Mike Booker and Erica Trejo. Many teams also participated in the One Pro and Mixed+ Divisions. Winners: Peter Bowe’s Tea Dance Snake and John Koten’s Planet Claire, respectively.

The DIYC J/70 Winter Series spans three weekends of racing between early December and February, though sufficient conditions were not available for the first event.

Event #1: Dec 2-4, 2022 –
Event #2: Jan 6-8, 2023 –
Event #3: Feb 3-5, 2023 –


comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.