Yale top ranked for Dinghy Nationals

Published on May 2nd, 2023

The College Sailing National Championship Selection Committees have confirmed the 36 teams to compete in the 2023 Women’s Fleet Race National Championship (May 23-26) and the 36 teams to vie for the and 2023 Open Fleet Race National Championship (May 30-June 2). Both events will be hosted by the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY.

Aside from the conference champions that receive automatically qualify, the committees are charged with selecting the most competitive field of At-Large Teams for the National Championships. To be eligible, teams must have regional or cross-regional status, and must have competed in at least one Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association Regatta in the corresponding discipline. Selectors shall consider exemplary performance throughout the season in that discipline. Selectors shall not consider geographic diversity, or a team’s record in any discipline in previous years.

Women’s Fleet Race Selection Committee:
• Allie Blecher
• Clinton Hayes
• Ned Jones
• Gabby Rizika
• Kelsey Wheeler

Open Fleet Race Selection Committee:
• Chris Barnard
• Derek Deskey
• Charlie Lalumiere
• Belle Strachan
• Molly Vandemoer

Women’s Fleet Race:

Conference Champions Receiving Automatic Qualification:

Cornell University (MAISA)
Georgetown University (MAISA)
University of Wisconsin (MCSA)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (NEISA)
Harvard University (NEISA)
Stanford University (PCCSC)
University of Hawaii (PCCSC)
College of Charleston (SAISA)
University of South Florida (SAISA)
Tulane University (SEISA)
Texas A&M University (SEISA)

Full Field (ranked):
1. Yale University
2. Stanford University
3. Dartmouth College
4. Brown University
5. Harvard University
6. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
7. Boston College
8. Cornell University
9. U.S. Coast Guard Academy
10. Bowdoin College
11. University of Pennsylvania
12. Georgetown University
13. Tulane University
14. U.S. Naval Academy
15. St. Mary’s College of Maryland
16. College of Charleston
17. Hobart and William Smith Colleges
18. University of Rhode Island
19. University of South Florida
20. Fordham University
21. Tufts University
22. George Washington University
23. Northeastern University
24. North Carolina State University
25. Old Dominion University
26. Roger Williams University
27. Jacksonville University
28. University of Hawaii
29. Connecticut College
30. University of California at Santa Barbara
31. University of Vermont
32. Salve Regina University
33. Boston University
34. Eckerd College
35. University of Wisconsin
36. Texas A&M University

Open Fleet Race:

Conference Champions Receiving Automatic Qualification:
St Mary’s College of Maryland (MAISA)
SUNY Maritime College (MAISA)
University of Wisconsin (MCSA)
University of Michigan (MCSA)
Harvard University (NEISA)
Dartmouth College (NEISA)
Stanford University (PCCSC)
University of California at Santa Barbara (PCCSC)
North Carolina State University (SAISA)
University of Miami (SAISA)
Tulane University (SEISA)

Full Field (ranked):
1. Yale University
2. Harvard University
3. Dartmouth College
4. St. Mary’s College of Maryland
5. Brown University
6. U.S. Coast Guard Academy
7. Georgetown University
8. Roger Williams University
9. U.S. Naval Academy
10. Stanford University
11. SUNY Maritime College
12. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
13. University of Pennsylvania
14. Bowdoin College
15. Old Dominion University
16. Tulane University
17. George Washington University
18. Boston College
19. Connecticut College
20. Tufts University
21. Boston University
22. College of Charleston
23. Hobart and William Smith Colleges
24. Cornell University
25. University of Miami
26. University of Rhode Island
27. Fordham University
28. North Carolina State University
29. U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
30. Florida State University
31. University of California at Santa Barbara
32. Webb Institute
33. Jacksonville University
34. University of Wisconsin
35. University of Michigan
36. Eckerd College

National Championship Schedule:
April 29-30, Women’s Team Race – Stanford, CA
May 23-26, Women’s Fleet Race – Kings Point, NY
May 27-29, Open Team Race – Kings Point, NY
May 30-June 2, Open Fleet Race – Kings Point, NY

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.