Visit Pensacola

Carmen Cowles: Women’s Sailor of the Year 2023

Published on May 26th, 2023

Kings Point, NY (May 26, 2023) – Carmen Cowles ’25 of Yale University was named 2023 Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year. Established in 2003, the trophy is sponsored by Quantum Sails, and awarded annually to the outstanding female collegiate sailor. The recognition followed the College Sailing Women’s National Championship in which Cowles won A Division and her team finished second overall.

The Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) made the following selections:

Women’s All American Skippers
Carmen Cowles, 2025, Yale University
Emma Cowles, 2025, Yale University
Hannah Freeman, 2024, Stanford University
Bridget Green, 2025, Cornell University
Maddie Hawkins, 2024, Dartmouth College
Dana Haig, 2022, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michelle Lahrkamp, 2023, Stanford University
Vanessa Lahrkamp, 2026, Stanford University
Mia Nicolosi, 2025, Yale University
Colleen O’Brien, 2024 Boston College

Honorable Mention Women’s All American Skippers
Caroline Bayless, 2023, Brown University
Emily Bornarth, 2024, US Coast Guard Academy
Eva Blauvelt, 2025, US Naval Academy
Cordelia Burn, 2025, Harvard University
Sarah Burn, 2024, Harvard University
Piper Holthus, 2025, Georgetown University
Elizabeth Kaplan, 2023, Bowdoin College
Blaire McCarthy, 2023, Brown University
Michaela O’Brien, 2024, Boston College
Ciara Rodriguez-Horan, 2022, Tulane University

National Championship Schedule:
April 29-30, Women’s Team Race – Stanford, CA
May 23-26, Women’s Fleet Race – Kings Point, NY
May 27-29, Open Team Race – Kings Point, NY
May 30-June 2, Open Fleet Race – Kings Point, NY

comment banner

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.