Visit Pensacola

Disabled sailors to compete in Newport

Published on May 26th, 2023

Clagett Sailing and U.S. Sailing will host the 2023 U.S. Para Sailing Championships alongside the 21st C. Thomas Clagett, Jr. Memorial Clinic and Regatta on June 21-25 at Sail Newport in Newport, RI.

The U.S. Para Sailing Championships is one of the oldest sailing regattas in the U.S. for sailors with disabilities. This year’s championships will be raced in three fleets, all of which are adapted for sailors with disabilities:

• The U.S. Para Sailing Singlehanded Championship for the Judd Goldman Trophy will be raced in the 2.4mR class.
• The U.S. Para Sailing Doublehanded Championship for the Chandler Hovey Trophy will be raced in the Martin 16
• The U.S. Para Sailing Triplehanded Championship for the Gene Hinkel Trophy will be raced in Sonars.

Along with the Championship trophies, the C. Thomas Clagett, Jr. Trophy, the Susan B Johnson – Sportsmanship Award, the Larry Gadsby – Most Improved Award, the Nick Scandone – Spirit Award, and the Robie Pierce and Gene Hinkle – Seamanship Award will be presented to sailors taking part in the regatta.

First established in 1986, the U.S. Independence Cup became US Sailing’s National Championship for sailors with disabilities in 1989. In 2007, the regatta moved under the championships division of US Sailing and was renamed the U.S. Disabled Sailing Championship. In 2018, the event was renamed the U.S. Para Sailing Championships to align with International Paralympic Committee terminology for all sports.

Many competitors racing at the U.S. Para Sailing Championships and the Clagett Regatta have gone on to represent the United States at the Paralympics Games, including gold medalists Nick Scandone/ Maureen McKinnon and bronze medalist John Ruff at Beijing 2008; Jennifer French/ J.P. Creignou, silver medalists in London 2012, and Rick Doerr, Hugh Freund, and Brad Kendell, silver medalists at Rio 2016.

The coaching line up working with sailors at the clinic and regatta this year includes Betsy Alison, Brian Todd, Dave Dellenbaugh, and Nancy Haberland. All four coaches have coached at over 40 Clagett Regattas between them, sharing their skills and knowledge with the sailors during the coaching clinic and the regatta competition.


comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.