Entries closed for Sydney Hobart Race

Published on October 31st, 2023

Entries for the 78th Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race are closed for the 628nm offshore classic, with 120 boats intending to start in Sydney Harbour on Boxing Day, December 26, 2023.

One hundred ten Australian boats hail from six states – NSW (64), QLD (20), VIC (16), TAS (7), SA (1), and WA (2) – while from abroad there are ten international teams: New Zealand (3), Hong Kong (2), New Caledonia, USA, France, Germany, and Ireland.

Boats range in size from the smallest – two diminutive 30-foot two-handed entries, Kathy Veel and Bridget Canham’s Currawong 30 Currawong and Marc Michel and Logan Fraser’s Dehler 30 Niksen from New Zealand – all the way up to the four maxi 100-footers – Andoo Comanche, Law Connect, SHK Scallywag, and Wild Thing 100 (formerly the Botin 80 Stefan Racing) – vying for line honors victory.

The oldest boat in the fleet is Ena Ladd’s Colin Archer-designed double-ender Christina, built in 1932. Robert Williams is campaigning Sylph VI, built in 1960, which competed in the Sydney Hobart five times up until 1972 and is making its return after having circumnavigated the globe and spending the past five decades cruising.

Twenty-one boats will be competing two-handed – 17.5% of the fleet. This number is testament to the growing interest and standard of competition in the division across Australia and around the world.

There are 96 boats competing under IRC for the prestigious Tattersall Cup and 24 under PHS Handicap.

Details: https://www.rolexsydneyhobart.com/

Source: CYCA

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.