Game On: JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship 2015

Published on February 13th, 2015

Sydney, Australia (February 13, 2015) – The 2015 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship got under way today when the 24-boat fleet lined up on Sydney Harbour for the traditional Invitation Race to welcome the visiting competitors.

The defending champion Gotta Love It 7 team of Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton and Scott Babbage, revelled in the light ESE breeze, around 8 knots, to lead throughout the race and win by 1m7s from the NSW champion Thurlow Fisher Lawyers team of Michael Coxon, Trent Barnabas and Dave O’Connor.

Lumix (Jonathan Whitty, Aron Everett and Daniel Nixon) came back strongly to finish a further 1m20s back in third place.

New Zealand’s AON (William Tiller) was fourth overall, followed by Mojo Wine (Lee Knapton) and Yamaha (David McDiarmin) also from New Zealand.

Report by Frank Quealey, Australian 18 Footers League

Event websiteVideos

Photos today from Christophe Favreau.

Event Schedule
Friday, February 13, 2015 – Invitation Race
Saturday, February 14, 2015 – Race 1
Sunday, February 15, 2015 – Race 2
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 – Race 3
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 – Race 4
Thursday, February 19, 2015 – Race 5
Saturday, February 21, 2015 – Race 6
Sunday, February 22, 2015 – Race 7

Racing will be broadcast live.

February 13 JJ Giltinan Championship – Invitation Race

February 14 JJ Giltinan Championship – Race 1

Click here for event brochure.

Top Photo: Team Manager Iain Murray (right) with the winning Gotta Love It 7 crew of Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton and Scott Babbage.

Background: The 2015 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on February 13-22 is the 76th anniversary of the world’s greatest 18 Footer event which began on Sydney Harbour in 1938. Notable designers such as Ben Lexcen, Bruce Farr, Iain Murray and Julian Bethwaite have all been successful as winners, with Murray leading the charge claiming six consecutive wins from 1977-1982. In 2014, skipper Seve Jarvin equaled Murray by claiming his 6th title, leading the Gotta Love It 7 team with Sam Newton and Scott Babbage. Murray is now the Gotta Love It 7 team manager.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.