Race Officials Named for 2016 Olympics

Published on October 6th, 2015

ISAF has released the names of the Race Officials who will be officiating at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Headed by ISAF Technical Delegates Alastair Fox and Scott Perry, the team of international technical officials will be present throughout the Olympic Sailing Competition ensuring the fairness of the competition and a level playing field for the 380 sailors to compete on.

The race management team will be headed by Nino Shmueli (ISR), ISAF’s Principal Race Officer at the 2014 ISAF Sailing World Championships and recently at the ISAF Sailing World Cup in Qingdao.

The International Jury will be chaired by Bernard Bonneau (FRA) who recently finished chairing the 2014-15 Volvo Ocean Race and was the Vice-Chairman of the Olympic Jury at London 2012. Dimitris Dimou (GRE), the 470 Class Chief Measurer, will head up the ISAF equipment inspection team.

The selections bring to an end over two years of assessments and monitoring which include the 2014 ISAF Sailing World Championships in Santander and the Test Events for the 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition.

The final team, coming from 35 different countries and all continents, will now begin the final preparations for the Olympic Sailing Competition in close co-operation with the Rio 2016 organisers and the team of Brazilian national technical officials and volunteers.

Click here for the list of names.

Rio 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition
The Rio 2016 Olympic Sailing Competition will take place at the Marina da Glória, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and will feature 380 athletes competing across ten events.

Racing is scheduled to take place from 8-18 August 2016 and the competition format for all events is fleet racing. Details.

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.