Qualifiers Complete at Scuttlebutt Sailing Club Championship

Published on October 25th, 2015

Virgin Gorda, BVI (October 25, 2015) – The Bitter End Yacht Club’s 29th Annual Pro Am Regatta got underway today with the spotlight focused on the amateurs- the guests of the resort who came to the Caribbean to crew for the six professional skippers invited to compete for the championship.

Both morning and afternoon buoy races were held in Hobie Waves, Hobie Getaways, and Lasers in the qualification series for the Scuttlebutt Sailing Club Championship, which will take place later in the week in IC 24s. After 7 races in light and shifty Caribbean trade winds, the four finalist are Marylou Scott (New York, NY), George Huntington (Long Island, NY), Ron Boehm (Santa Barbara, CA), Gordon LeGrande (Raleigh, NC), Chris Smith (Tucson, AZ), and Peter Schoen (Corte Madera, CA).

Those six along, with the others guests at the BEYC, will make up the crew pool tomorrow (Monday) for the 21st Annual Defiance Day Race, which takes the fleet down the island of Virgin Gorda to The Baths, with a return race scheduled for later in the day. This year the pro skippers are Sally Barkow, Taylor Canfield, JJ Fetter, Annie Haeger, Anthony Kotoun and Dave Ullman. The Pro Am Championship itself begins on Tuesday with fleet races in IC 24s, leading up to the match racing finals on Friday, October 30. Event website.


comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.