International teams come for 51st Governor’s Cup

Published on July 17th, 2017

Twelve teams will compete in the 51st Annual Governor’s Cup International Junior Match Racing Championship, held in Gov Cup 22s on July 18 to 22 in Corona del Mar, CA.

Racers were chosen from a large field of applicants and include six teams who participated in the 50th Gov Cup. The third and fourth place finishers in 2016 will return. In fourth last year was Harry Price from Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, the World Sailing #8 ranked Match racer. He won the 2015 Gov Cup as well at the age of 19 and will still be eligible next year, since the racers must be under 23 years of age to compete.

Southern California teams to be included are three from Orange County, including two from the host club, led by Christophe Killian (3rd place in 2016) and David Wood, who won the 2017 Rose Cup, making him eligible to race in the Gov Cup. David, at 16 years of age, is the youngest skipper in the Regatta. Charlie Welch will represent Newport Harbor Yacht Club. Christopher Weis of Del Rey Yacht Club in Marina del Rey will return after being a semi-finalist in 2015 and finishing in 6th place last year. From Florida, Greiner Hobbs and his team from Davis Island Yacht Club will be competing for the first time.

Returning to compete from Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron are George Anyon, 9th in 2016 and Leonard Takahashi, 5th in 2016. Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, Perth, Western Australia is sending a team led by William Boulden. Teams can have three or four members depending on the total weight of the racers. One of the teams with four members, from Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club in Australia, is the all-female team led by Clare Costanzo, who has a World Sailing Ranking of 125th.

For the first time, two teams will be coming from Great Britain. From Cambridge University Cruising Club is another team with four members, led by James Pinder. Matt Whitfield and his team will represent Wessex Sailing Club.

The following format is planned:
Stage 1 – A double round robin of all teams.
Stage 2 – A semi-final knockout of the top four teams from Stage 1.
Stage 3 – A final knockout of the top two teams from Stage 2.
Stage 4 – A petit final knockout of the other two teams from Stage 2.
Stage 5 – A consolation round for the teams finishing five through twelve from Stage 1.

2017 TEAMS
George Anyon (NZL), Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, 22
Crew: Matthew Hughes & Taylor Balogh

Will Boulden (AUS), Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, 21
Crew: Mark Spearman & Damian Garbowski

Clare Costanzo (AUS), Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Jessica Angus, Emma May & Hannah Lanz

Greiner Hobbs (USA), Davis Island Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Colton Carnevale & Noah Barrengos

Christophe Killian (USA), Balboa Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Harrison Vandervort & Jack Martin

James Pinder (UK), Cambridge University Cruising Club, 21
Crew: George Hopes, Jemima Lawson & Jamie Webb

Harry Price (AUS), Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, 21
Crew: Angus Williams & Cameron Seagreen

Leonard Takahashi (JPN), Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, 18
Crew: Ibuki Kolzuni & Josh Wijohn

Christopher Weis (USA), Del Rey Yacht Club, 21
Crew: Roberto Stevens & Dylan Finestone

Charlie Welsh (USA), Newport Harbor Yacht Club, 21
Crew: John Horton & Robert Garrett

Matt Whitfield (UK), Wessex Sailing Club, 20
Crew: Sophie Heritage & Ellie Meopham

David Wood (USA), Balboa Yacht Club, 16
Crew: Max Brennan & Catherine Reynolds

Source: Nancy Mellon


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.