Price Stays Strong at Governor’s Cup

Published on July 21st, 2017

Corona del Mar, CA (July 21, 2017) – The fourth day for the 51st Annual Governor’s Cup International Junior Match Racing Championship Cup saw the completion of the Flights for Round Robin 2, the start of the Semi-finals and the start of the races to fill in places 5 – 12.

The four teams in the Semi-Finals are Harry Price (AUS) vs Leonard Takahashi (JPN), and Christophe Killian (USA) vs Christopher Weis (USA), in a best of 5 series. Price finished the round robin in first place, local Killian in second, with Takahashi and Weis tied for third.

Christophe Killian (USA) and Christopher Weis (USA) completed two races, with Killian finishing the day with 2-0 in the Semi-Final. Harry Price (AUS) and Leonard Takahashi (JPN) split the two races, each with 1-1.

Local conditions were exceptional today with mild winds in the 10 knot range. It was warm, however, in the high 80’s. Racing began at noon and continued through the afternoon. The racers returned to the dock early, and were greeted by many supporters.

Matt Whitfield from Wessex was delighted with the weather, especially when he talked with his family in England, where it was raining extensively, causing flooding. He and his teammates are pleased to be staying for the World Sailing Youth Match Racing Championship also hosted by Balboa Yacht Club. Six of the skippers with their teams sailing in the Gov Cup will also race in the Worlds. The others include Grainer Hobbs, Charlie Welsh, Clare Costanzo, George Anyon, Harry Price and Matt Whitfield.

Will Boulden, the skipper from RFBYC was pleased to relax with his teammates. He felt much more prepared this year and had lost only one race yesterday. After this regatta, he is off to Italy for the Moth Worlds single-handed foiling racing.

Racing concludes tomorrow.

Round Robin 1 Results

Round Robin 2 Results



















The following format is planned:
Stage 1 – A double round robin of all teams.
Stage 2 – A semi-final knockout of the top four teams from Stage 1.
Stage 3 – A final knockout of the top two teams from Stage 2.
Stage 4 – A petit final knockout of the other two teams from Stage 2.
Stage 5 – A consolation round for the teams finishing five through twelve from Stage 1.

2017 TEAMS
George Anyon (NZL), Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, 22
Crew: Matthew Hughes & Taylor Balogh

Will Boulden (AUS), Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, 21
Crew: Mark Spearman & Damian Garbowski

Clare Costanzo (AUS), Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Jessica Angus, Emma May & Hannah Lanz

Greiner Hobbs (USA), Davis Island Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Colton Carnevale & Noah Barrengos

Christophe Killian (USA), Balboa Yacht Club, 20
Crew: Harrison Vandervort & Jack Martin

James Pinder (UK), Cambridge University Cruising Club, 21
Crew: George Hopes, Jemima Lawson & Jamie Webb

Harry Price (AUS), Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, 21
Crew: Angus Williams & Cameron Seagreen

Leonard Takahashi (JPN), Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron, 18
Crew: Ibuki Kolzuni & Josh Wijohn

Christopher Weis (USA), Del Rey Yacht Club, 21
Crew: Roberto Stevens & Dylan Finestone

Charlie Welsh (USA), Newport Harbor Yacht Club, 21
Crew: John Horton & Robert Garrett

Matt Whitfield (UK), Wessex Sailing Club, 20
Crew: Sophie Heritage & Ellie Meopham

David Wood (USA), Balboa Yacht Club, 16
Crew: Max Brennan & Catherine Reynolds

Source: BYC

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.