Game on for U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship

Published on August 22nd, 2018

Eight teams are set to face off in the 2018 U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship, hosted by the St. Francis Yacht Club in San Francisco on August 24-26, 2018.

With the competition on San Francisco Bay in J/22 boats, teams will be racing with high stakes on the line this week. Due to a change in dates for the Nations Cup Grand Final from October, 2018 to April, 2019, US Sailing can nominate the skipper of the 2018 U.S. Women’s National Champion Match Racing team to represent the U.S. at this elite international match racing event.

The top placing eligible skipper will also be invited to compete at the 2018 U.S. Match Racing Championship, hosted by the Chicago Yacht Club on October 19-21, 2018.

A number of familiar faces in the women’s match racing circuit will be on hand this week, including defending two-time Champion (2016, 2015), Nicole Breault (San Francisco, Calif.). She returns with the same crew from her winning 2016 team, composed of Molly Carapiet (San Francisco, Calif.), Karen Loutzenheiser (Santa Cruz, Calif.), and Hannah Burroughs (San Francisco, Calif.).

Carapiet and Loutzenheiser also raced with Breault on her winning 2015 team. Breault is the #1 ranked women’s match racer in the country and #8 in the world.

After taking second place honors in 2016 and 2015, Janel Zarkowsky (Annapolis, Md.) makes a return to this Championship to take another shot at the title. Zarkowsky won as crew with Stephanie Roble in 2014.

“We are really looking forward to this year’s Championship on San Francisco Bay, especially since the list of highly-skilled and experienced teams racing this week is deep,” said Betsy Alison, Adult Sailing Director at US Sailing. “I expect the competition to be fierce as the competitors hone their skills by taking part in the additional opportunities for quality coaching and a clinic preceding the event.”

Randy Smith, an active match race competitor, umpire, and longtime PRO for the Congressional Cup, will be conducting a match racing clinic with the participating sailors on Thursday, August 23.

Previous winners of the U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship include some of the top women’s sailors in recent U.S. history. Cory Sertl, Betsy Alison, Sally Barkow, Anna Tunnicliffe, Stephanie Roble, Genny Tulloch, Liz Baylis, and Debbie Cappozi have all won this US Sailing National Championship.

Event detailsEntry list

Source: US Sailing

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.