Qualifying continues at Detroit Cup

Published on August 24th, 2018

Detroit, MI (August 24, 2018) – The second day at the Detroit Cup saw the completion of Round Robin 1, followed by the first six flights of Round Robin 2. Ryan Seago’s team (USA) leads on 11–3 with Chris Poole (USA) and Will Bolden (AUS) close behind.

Tomorrow should see the remaining 21 matches of the Double Round Robin contested, after which the top four teams will progress to the semi-finals.

The 11th annual edition of the 2018 Detroit Cup is the second of four events of the US Grand Slam Series. Held in Ultimate 20s, the ten teams from Australia, New Zealand, and the USA will compete on August 23-26 in Detroit, MI.

Event detailsResultsFacebook

Winning Skippers, Detroit Cup:
2017 – Harry Price (AUS)
2016 – Harry Price (AUS)
2015 – Sam Gilmour (AUS)
2014 – Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA)
2013 – David Gilmour (AUS)
2012 – Josh Junior (NZL)
2011 – Jordan Reece (AUS)
2010 – Dave Perry (USA)
2009 – Anna Tunicliffe (USA)
2008 – Simon Minoprio (NZL)

The 8th edition of the Grand Slam Series brings together four Grade 2 match racing events in 2018, offering a compact circuit in August and September to attract top ranked foreign sailors to the U.S. and provide North American match racers with high level competition. Additionally, the winner of the series gets an invitation to the 2019 Congressional Cup, the only World Sailing Grade One Match Race event in the USA.

2018 Grand Slam Series:
August 17-19 – Chicago (Chicago YC – Sonars)
August 24-26 – Detroit (Bayview YC – Ultimate 20s)
Sept 6-9 – Oyster Bay, NY (Oakcliff Sailing – Match 40s)
Sept 11-15 – Oyster Bay, NY (Seawanhaka Corinthian YC – Match 40s)

Grand Slam Series – Overall Results

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.