Yale takes Team Race National title

Published on May 27th, 2019

Newport, RI (May 27, 2019) – The third and final day for the LaserPerformance Team Race National Championship would award the national title and the Walter C. Wood Trophy to Yale University which had toppled the 16-team field.

Going into the final four Yale was already the winner after yesterday’s racing concluded, but the three other teams each had a chance to take second place given the right circumstances. Racing started on time this morning in a nice northerly breeze. The wind started to get light for the last few races of the day as a southerly sea breeze was working its way in.

Yale had two loses today, but that did not affect their podium finish. This is the fifth time in the last seven years that Yale has won the title – the previous two years College of Charleston won it.

“It was good conditions today and fair racing,” says Bill Healy, associate head coach for Yale. “We sailed the same group we ended with yesterday looking to go undefeated today, but it was tough racing. The group of racers is so strong and every mistake is amplified.

“This regatta was incredible and sailing late yesterday paid off – getting races off quickly this morning did also as the breeze died down right after we finished the final four.”

Sailing for Yale is: Shawn Harvey ’21, Graceann Nicolosi ’20, Nicholas Baird ’19, Kira Woods ’19, Nicolas Hernandez ’19, Sonia Lingos-Utley ’21, Claudia Loiacono ’21, Christine Klingler ’20, and Sam Tobin ’22.

Georgetown came out strong on the water this morning and won all three of their races, finishing in second place overall.

“We had all good racing this morning with no mistakes,” says Mike Callahan, head coach for Georgetown. “It felt more like our bread and butter conditions – similar to what we practice in on the Potomac River. We finished the regatta strong and I am really proud of the team.”

Sailing for Georgetown is: Andy Reiter ’19, Haley Shea ’19, Sean Segerblom ’20, Rebecca Fung ’19, William Logue ’20, Caroline Teare ’21, Claire Mohun ’19, Noah Kelleher ’19, Jack Hogan ’21, Marley Mais ’21, Andrew Person ’21 and Lucy Beimfohr ’21.

Stanford finished in third place after a hard fought regatta. They lost two races this morning, but stayed ahead of Dartmouth to come in third place overall.

“We had a photo finish against Georgetown that ended with a tough loss,” says Clinton Hayes, interim head coach for Stanford. “In the Yale race we had an unfortunate foul on the first beat and never recovered. It was nice to get a decisive win against Dartmouth to be on the podium.

“Overall we were really fast but had a few too many fouls and a couple small mistakes to keep us out of contention for second.”

Sailing for Stanford is: Jacob Rosenberg ’20, Meg Gerli ’19, Jack Parkin ’21, Camille White ’22, Romain Screve ’21, Madeline Bubb ’20, Kathryn Booker ’19, Taylor Kirkpatrick ’20, Sammy Pickell ’22, and Matthew Hogan ’21.

Dartmouth also lost two races this morning and had one win against Yale. They finished in fourth place overall.

Sailing for Dartmouth is: Christopher Williford ’19, Rebecca McElvain ’19, Jack McGraw ’20, Paige Clarke ’20, Timothy Greenhouse ’21, Eloise Burn ’21, Mary Amis ’19, Aisling Sullivan ’22, Alyssa Berger ’19, Max Clapp ’21, and Carlota Hopkins Guerra ’22.

Principal Race Officer Kyle Assad kept the course running well all three days of the event along with the regatta chairs Justin Assad (Dartmouth College head coach) and Mike O’Connor (Harvard University head coach) and the team of umpires.

Racing continues tomorrow at 10 a.m. in the Gill College Sailing Coed National Championship at Sail Newport in Newport, R.I. The event will begin with two days of Semifinals racing followed by two days of Finals racing.

Final Results (wins and losses):
1. Yale University, 21-4
2. Georgetown University, 20-5
3. Stanford University, 17-8
4. Dartmouth College, 15-10

Final Scores, places 5-8, (wins and losses)
5. College of Charleston, 13.5-8
6. U.S. Naval Academy, 12-10
7. Boston College, 12-10
8. Hobart and William Smith Colleges, 11-11

Final Scores, places 9-16 (wins and losses)
9. Bowdoin College, 6-9
10. University of California at Santa Barbara, 6-9
11. Fordham University, 6-9
12. University of Wisconsin, 4-11
13. Jacksonville University, 3-12
14. Texas A&M University at Galveston, 3-12
15. University of Washington, 1-14
16. University of Michigan, 1-14

Event detailsResultsFacebook

FORMAT: In the first round all sixteen teams race each other once. This round determines places 9-16. The top eight teams then advance to a single round robin, which determines places 5-8. The top four remaining teams advance to a “final four” another single round to determine places 1-4.

2019 Spring Nationals
May 21-24 – Women’s Dinghy
May 25-27 – Team Race
May 28-31 – Coed Dinghy

Live coverage will include:
May 23, half day of Women’s coverage.
May 24, full day of Women’s coverage and awards.
May 25, half to 3/4 day of Team Race coverage, release of Women’s recap video.
May 26, full day of Team Race coverage.
May 27, full day of Team Race coverage and awards.
May 28, release of Team Racing recap video.
May 29, full day of Coed coverage.
May 30, full day of Coed coverage.
May 31, full day of Coed coverage and awards.
June 3, release of Coed recap video.

For live coverage… click here.

The 2018-19 season for the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) held the Match Racing Nationals and Singlehanded Nationals during the fall season, with the final three national titles on May 21 to 31 in Newport, RI.

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.