Kostanecki wins J/70 Corinthian Champs

Published on August 11th, 2019

Harbor Springs, MI (August 11, 2019) – Chris Kostanecki’s Jennifer (above) handled the closing race of the J/70 US Corinthian National Championship like true experts.

They came into today’s final pair of races with a three-point advantage over Scott Sellers’ Tres Burritos. But Sellers nailed another bullet (his fourth of the regatta) in race seven to take the lead. Back came Kostanecki, with crew Matt Sessions, Carlos Roblesn, and Scott Kozinchik, to win the eighth and final contest and become the 2019 J/70 Corinthian National Champions.

Sellers placed eighth in that race for the runner-up position, ultimately five points behind the winner. A couple of threes today shot Jake Christy’s Pale Horse into the bronze spot with 37 points.

Thirty-six all-amateur teams had three days with postcard conditions of blue skies, temperatures in the 70s and breeze in the mid-teens. There was not a single General Recall or protest during the eight-race series.

This event was California-based Kostanecki’s first in Harbor Springs. “Fresh water, windy, and the waves were bigger and steeper than San Francisco,” he summarized. “It was the Pure Michigan experience with world-class people and social activities.” Kostanecki admitted that “We thought we threw it away. Thank you to my team who worked hard in some difficult moments.”

Jackson Benvenutti of North Sails coached the Corinthian competitors daily via a RIB and again post-race with video education, including debriefs from each day’s race winners.

Racing was on August 9 to 11.

Event detailsResultsFacebook

Final Results (Top 10 of 36; 8 races, 1 discard)
1. Chris Kostanecki/ Matt Sessions/ Carlos Robles/ Scott Kozinchik, 3-3-4-6-1-2-[10]-1; 20
2. Scott Sellers/ Hannah Sellers/ Merritt Sellers/ Owen Beckley/ Holt Condon, 1-4-1-[11]-9-1-1-8; 25
3. Jake Christy/ Steve Rozelle/ Mark Teborek/ Charles Trost, 5-7-2-[13]-13-4-3-3; 37
4. Henry Filter/ Alex Stout/ Will Wagner/ Jen Sturmer, 2-12-9-1-5-6-[14]-4; 39
5. Peter Vessella/ Tracy Usher/ Christy Usher/ Mike Bishop, 6-5-3-2-[11]-5-11-9; 41
6. Dave Dennison/ Trevor Davis/ Thorn Turner/ Kevin Kenny, 8-11-6-3-4-[12]-8-2; 42
7. Sarah Renz/ Mark Renz/ Matt Clark/ Will Holz, 9-2-7-4-10-[13]-4-6; 42
8. Peter Bowe/ Mike McNamara/ Todd Jenner/ Matt Alisch, 10-1-8-10-3-3-[26]-17; 52
9. Michael Duff/ Mike Duff/ Robert Duff/ Robb Matthews/ Preston Carey, 7-14-5-7-7-7-9-[20]; 56
10. Martin Johnsson/ August Hernandez/ Lindsay Hernandez/ Jorgen Johnsson, 4-10-10-15-6-9-7-[18]; 61

Source: J/70 Class

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.