Visit Pensacola

2019 winners of Sailing Video Award

Published on November 25th, 2019

Bilbao, Spain (November 25, 2019) – The third edition of the Mirabaud Sailing Video Award received 34 videos of which an international jury selected Manuel Llario (ESP) and his video Feel Traditional Sailing as the overall winner which presented a beautiful tribute to classic yachts, filmed during the Puig Vela Clásica regatta in Barcelona (ESP).

In second place was Yann Riou (FRA) with his video Maxi Edmond de Rothschild taking off to Brest Atlantiques. Media man aboard the trimaran, he filmed Franck Cammas and Charles Caudrelier in action. Third of the contest, Ricardo Pinto (POR) filmed Greta Thunberg, Boris Herrmann, and Pierre Casiraghi during their Atlantic crossing onboard Malizia and produced a video entitled: The Future is now!

“It is an honour to receive such a prestigious international award,” says Llario. “It is a great reward for the work we do with so much effort and affection all year round, in all the events we cover. I am proud to be working with a great team on a daily basis. They all contributed to this success, through filing, writing, and producing this video, which I edited.

“The Puig Vela Clásica Regatta is a very important event in the Spanish regatta calendar, attended by sailors from all over Europe. It is also a true audiovisual show, with magical images. It is precisely this enchantment of classic yachts that we wanted to convey in this video. For me, the classic sail is the very essence of every modern boat. The way they are being sailed and the sense of tradition that emanates from them are unique.”

The Public Award provides a high visibility to the contest, thanks to the viral circulation of the videos on the social networks. More than 20,000 people voted this year, and the victory goes to José Cigarrán (ESP) from Mundo Nautica with Homes e maquinas which illustrated the Sail GP circuit. Cherie Bridges (UK) finished second with Clipper 2019-20 Race while in third was Pierre Lallement (FRA) with Morning Flying.

Finally, the 2019 Special Award goes to Ricardo Pinto (POR) for his film The Future is now! which told the story of Greta Thunberg’s Atlantic crossing onboard Malizia. “It is clearly the subject that gave most visibility to the sport of sailing this year, which is paradoxical,” said Bernard Schopfer, the founder of the Mirabaud Sailing Video Award. “Ricardo Pinto’s ‘behind the scene’ vision is, in our opinion, to be commended.”

The winners were revealed at an award ceremony held during the Yacht Racing Forum evening reception. The winning films were screened, in the presence of the winner Manuel Llario, several members of the Jury and the public. The winners received a Prize Money thanks to the event partner, the Mirabaud Group.

Contest Conditions:
• Videos must have been filmed between September 24, 2018 and October 23, 2019
• Videos must be submitted before October 23, 2019 at midnight GMT
• Public voting will be open from October 25 to November 5, 2019
• Duration of the videos between 45 seconds and two minutes.
• Copyright-free soundtrack

For information on the 2019 contest, click here.

Source: MaxComm Communication

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.