Visit Pensacola

Thin Ice wins Islands in the Stream Series

Published on March 14th, 2020

The 2019-20 SORC Islands in the Stream Series concluded with the inaugural running of the 285 mile Miami-to-Eleuthera Race. Starting on March 11, 13 teams braved the Gulf Stream crossing, the mostly upwind forecast, and the seemingly looming ban on international travel.

In first place in the multihull division was Tobiko, the Seacart 30 owned by Tim Britton, followed up by the Gunboat 55 Thirst sailed by Seamus Hourihan and Dougie Douglass. As the elapsed time winner in 1:08:55:42, their victory clinched the overall Islands in the Stream series for multihulls.

Over in the monohull divisions, the race winners in PHRF were the crew on the Santa Cruz 52 Renegade. In ORC A, the class winner was the Carkeek 40 Meridian XI and in in ORC Class B, by a mere one minute and 3 seconds, the class winner was the J/120 Kairos.

At the conclusion of the awards, the final season standings for the 4-race Islands in the Stream Series had five boats in contention to win it all. Chris Lewis’ J/44 Kenai, Tim Tucker’s C&C 115 Rockstar, Joe Brito’s J/121 Incognito, Eamon deLisser and Jim Bill’s Farr 395 Senara, and Stuart Hebb’s Aerodyne 38 Thin Ice were all within 2 or 3 points. In the end it was Thin Ice pulling off the overall series win for the second year in a row.

Series information Series resultsRace detailsRace results

2019-2020 Islands in the Stream Series
November 14 – Nassau Cup Ocean Race
December 6 – Wirth M Munroe Palm Beach Race
January 23 – Ft. Lauderdale to Key West
March 11 – Eleuthera Race

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.