Visit Pensacola

Wirth M. Munroe Ocean Race

Published on December 6th, 2019

Palm Beach, FL (December 6, 2019) – Light and shifty winds challenged the 32-boat fleet in the Sailfish Club of Florida’s 63rd annual Wirth M. Munroe Ocean Race, the second event of the 2019-2020 Islands in the Stream Series. The 60-mile Classic course from Miami to Palm Beach was shortened to 50 miles because of the light conditions while the 40-mile Sprint course from Fort Lauderdale to Palm Beach was completed without change.

“This year’s Wirth Munroe was a true test of patience and strategy,” said Race Committee Chair Tom Bowler of the Sailfish Club. “Boats that took full advantage of the Gulf Stream’s push north were rewarded.”

Bowler said the fleet of 32 boats marked the race’s highest participation level in a decade, and reflected the growing appeal of the two-course format, introduced by the Sailfish Club two years ago as a way to increase participation.

“We are delighted to see entries grow, and while we would have liked to see more wind for this year’s race, the two-course format continues to generate positive feedback from skippers and crews,” he said.

The Classic course will be scored as part of the SORC’s Islands in the Stream Series, which includes the Miami-Nassau Race, the Lauderdale-Key West Race and the Miami-Eleuthra Race. The Sprint Course will not be scored as part of the series.

The Organizing Authority for the race consists of The Sailfish Club of Florida in partnership with the Storm Trysail Club and with the support of the Biscayne Bay Yacht Club. The SORC, Storm Trysail Club and the Sailfish Club of Florida oversee race management.

Trophy Winners:
• First Overall — Smokeshow
• First Yacht to Finish/Best Elapsed time on Classic Course — Mach Schnell
• Navigator of First Yacht to Finish on Classic Course — Ed Cesare
• Sailfish Club Yacht First to Finish — Interlodge VI
• Sailfish Club Yacht with Best Corrected Time — Interlodge VI
• First Yacht to Finish on Corrected Time on Sprint Course — Loose Cannon
• First Yacht to Finish/Best Elapsed Time on Sprint Course — Arethusa

Event informationRace detailsResults

Results – Top Three:

The Classic – Miami to Palm Beach:

Class 1 ORC-A (ORC – 5 Boats)
1. Interlodge VI, Botin 44, Austin and Gwen Fragomen, Newport, RI, USA
2. Marisol, J 124, Seth Hall/ Tom Pollack, Palm Beach, FL, USA
3. Mutiny, Club Swan 42, Mats Herrstromer, Waxhaw, NC, USA

Class 2 ORC-B (ORC – 6 Boats)
1. Smokeshow, GP 26, Paul Sevigny, Darien, CT, USA
2. Thin Ice, Aerodyne 38, Stuart Hebb / John Vincent, Newport, RI, USA
3. Incognito, J 121, Joe Brito, Newport, RI, USA

Class 3 PHRF-A (PHRF_ToT – 5 Boats)
1. Flat Stanley, Melges 32, Terry McSweeney/ Trey Sheehan, Chagrin Falls, OH, USA
2. Senara, Farr 395, Eamonn deLisser / James Bill / Horst Biar, Coral Gables, FL, USA
3. Kairos, J 120, Thomas Anderson Hanson Bratton, Birmingham, MI, USA

Class 4 PHRF-B (PHRF_ToT – 5 Boats)
No entries completed the course within the time limit.

Class 5 Multihull (ToT – 2 Boats)
1. Mach Schnell, GunBoat 62, Kent Haeger, Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
2. Tobiko, Seacart 30, Tim Britton, Peru, VT, USA

The Sprint – Ft. Lauderdale to Palm Beach:

Class 6 IRC (IRC – 4 Boats)
1. Gamecock, IC37, Peter McClennen, Newport, RI, USA
2. Arethusa, IC37, Phil Lotz, Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA
3. Flying Jenny, IC37, Sandra Askew, Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Class 7 PHRF (PHRF_ToT – 5 Boats)
1. Loose Cannon, J 88, John Kearns, Jupiter, FL, USA
2. Sirocco, Beneteau Oceanis 45, Olivier Pouille, Singer Island, FL, USA

2019-2020 Islands in the Stream Series
November 14 – Nassau Cup Ocean Race
December 6 – Wirth M Munroe Palm Beach Race
January 23 – Ft. Lauderdale to Key West
March 11 – Eleuthera Race

Source: Gus Carlson

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.