All nine teams for SailGP New Zealand

Published on March 14th, 2023

All nine SailGP teams are set to compete in the penultimate event of Season 3 on March 18-19 in Christchurch, New Zealand. Racing will take place 15:00-16:30 NZDT (22:00-23:30 EDT on March 17-18).

Following a severe weather incident in Australia a month ago which caused significant damage to the fleet’s wing sails and the Canadian F50, an intense repair program has the boats ready and able to use the 18m or 24m wing configuration. However, the 29m wing configuration remains unavailable while further repairs take place.

As one of the three teams in Season 2 that competed in the $1 million final race, the United States SailGP Team has not done as well this season and will be approaching the New Zealand event with a new line-up:

Driver: Jimmy Spithill
Wing Trimmer: Paul Campbell-James
Flight Controller: Hans Henken
Tactician / Grinder: Rome Kirby
Grinder: Alex Sinclair
Grinder: Cooper Dressler
Strategist: Cameron Farrah
Coach: Philippe Presti

There are only two events left to determine which three teams in Season 3 will have the chance to compete in the all-or-nothing big money race in San Francisco, USA. Here are the crew and substitution line-ups for the other teams:

Australia SailGP Team
Driver: Tom Slingsby
Wing Trimmer: Kyle Langford
Flight Controller: Jason Waterhouse
Grinder: Kinley Fowler
Grinder: Sam Newton
Reserve: Ed Powys
Strategist: Tash Bryant
Coach: Ben Durham

Canada SailGP Team
Driver: Phil Robertson
Wing Trimmer: Chris Draper
Flight Controller: Billy Gooderham
Grinder: Tom Ramshaw
Grinder: Tim Hornsby
Reserve Grinder: Graeme Sutherland
Strategist: Isabella Bertold
Coach: Joe Glanfield

Denmark SailGP Team
Driver: Nicolai Sehested
Wing Trimmer: Tom Johnson
Flight Controller: Rasmus Køstner
Grinder: Julius Hallström
Grinder: Hans-Christian Rosendahl
Grinder: Luke Payne
Strategist: Katja Salskov-Iversen
Coach: Chris Nicholson

France SailGP Team
Driver: Quentin Delapierre
Wing Trimmer: Kevin Peponnet
Flight Controller: Francois Morvan
Grinder: Matthieu Vandame
Grinder: Timothe Lapauw
Grinder: Olivier Herledant
Strategist: Maelle Frascari
Coach: Thierry Douillard

Great Britain SailGP Team
Driver: Ben Ainslie
Wing Trimmer: Iain Jensen
Flight Controller: Luke Parkinson
Grinder: Nick Hutton
Grinder: Neil Hunter
Reserve Sailor: Ben Cornish
Strategist: Hannah Mills
Reserve Strategist: Hannah Diamond
Coach: Rob Wilson

New Zealand SailGP Team
Driver: Peter Burling
Wing Trimmer: Blair Tuke
Flight Controller: Andy Maloney
Grinder: Josh Junior
Grinder: Marcus Hansen
Grinder: Louis Sinclair
Strategist: Liv Mackay
Coach: Ray Davies

Spain SailGP Team
Driver: Diego Botin
Wing Trimmer: Florian Trittel
Flight Controller: Joel Rodriguez
Grinder: Jake Lilley
Grinder: Joan Cardona
Grinder / Flight Controller: James Wierzbowski
Strategist: Nicole van der Verlden
Coach: Hamish Willcox

Switzerland SailGP Team
Driver: Sébastien Schneiter
Wing Trimmer: Glen Ashby
Flight Controller: Jason Saunders
Grinder: Jérémy Bachelin
Grinder: Guy Endean
Reserve Sailor / Grinder: Nils Theuninck
Strategist & Grinder: Laurane Mettraux
Sailing Advisor & Strategist: Nathan Outteridge
Coach: Jacopo Plazzi

SailGP informationNew Zealand detailsSeason 3 scoreboardYouTubeHow to watch

Season Three Standings (after nine of 11 events)
1. Australia (Tom Slingsby), 76 points
2. New Zealand (Peter Burling), 64 points
3. France (Quintin Delapierre), 63 points
4. Great Britain (Ben Ainslie), 61 points
5. Denmark (Nicolai Sehested), 57 points
6. United States (Jimmy Spithill), 52 points
7. Canada (Phil Robertson), 49 points
8. Spain (Jordi Xammar/Diego Botin), 27 points
9. Switzerland (Sebastien Schneiter), 25 points

• Spain SailGP Team: Docked two points in Season Championship for four-point penalty at Plymouth
• Switzerland SailGP Team: Docked two points in Season Championship for four-point penalty at Saint-Tropez
• United Stated SailGP Team: Docked four points in Season Championship for eight-point penalty at Saint-Tropez
• New Zealand SailGP Team: Docked two points in Season Championship for four-point penalty at Dubai; Docked two points in Season Championship for four-point penalty at Singapore

2022-23 SailGP Season 3 Schedule
May 14-15, 2022 – Bermuda Sail Grand Prix presented by Hamilton Princess
June 18-19, 2022 – United States Sail Grand Prix | Chicago at Navy Pier
July 30-31, 2022 – Great Britain Sail Grand Prix | Plymouth
August 19-20, 2022 – ROCKWOOL Denmark Sail Grand Prix | Copenhagen
September 10-11, 2022 – France Sail Grand Prix | Saint-Tropez
September 24-25, 2022 – Spain Sail Grand Prix | Andalucía – Cádiz
November 12-13, 2022 – Dubai Sail Grand Prix presented by P&O Marinas
January 14-15, 2023 – Singapore Sail Grand Prix
February 18-19, 2023 – Australia Sail Grand Prix | Sydney
March 18-19, 2023 – New Zealand Sail Grand Prix | Christchurch
May 6-7, 2023 – United States Sail Grand Prix | San Francisco (Season 3 Grand Final)

Format for 2022-23 SailGP events:
• Teams compete in identical F50 catamarans.
• Each event runs across two days.
• There are three qualifying races each day for all nine teams.*
• The top three teams from qualifying advance to a final race to be crowned event champion and earn the largest share of the $300,000 prize money to be split among the top three teams.
• The season ends with the Grand Final, which includes the Championship Final Race – a winner-takes-all match race for the $1m prize.
* Qualifying schedule increased from five to six races at France SailGP.

For competition documents, click here.

Established in 2018, SailGP seeks to be an annual, global sports league featuring fan-centric inshore racing in some of the iconic harbors around the globe. Rival national teams compete in identical F50 catamarans for event prize money as the season culminates with a $1 million winner-takes-all match race.

Source: SailGP

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.