Countdown for Youth Match Racing World Championship

Published on July 28th, 2017

Twelve teams have their sights on the 2017 Youth Match Racing World Championship to be held August 1 to 5 in Corona del Mar, CA. The Championship brings together teams from around the world, acknowledging their skills and offering a pathway to senior match racing competition.

In its fourth year, the Youth Match Racing Worlds has provided a pathway for the best young match racers to test themselves against the best in their age group. Joachim Aschenbrenner (DEN) claimed the inaugural title in 2014, followed by Sam Gilmour (AUS) in 2015 and Will Dargaville (AUS) in 2016.

The 2017 Worlds features a record number of participating countries including two skippers from each of the USA, New Zealand, and Australia, and one each from the Great Britain, France, Switzerland, Italy, Sweden and Denmark.

Furthermore, the 2017 edition will welcome two all-female crews with Clare Costanzo leading an Australian team, and Johanna Berqvist heading up a Swedish entry.

Australia’s Harry Price will come into the event tagged as favourite. The young Australian is World #6 in the World Sailing Open Match Racing Rankings following several exceptional performances at Grade 2 and 3 events over the last 24-months.

Price finished as runner-up at the 2016 Youth Match Racings Worlds in Noumeau, New Caledonia and claimed the honours at the 2015 Governor’s Cup, held at the World’s host Balboa Yacht Club.

Apart from Price, there are no further returnees from the 2016 Youth Match Racing Worlds. However, many of the competitors have experience of racing on the waters off Balboa Yacht Club following the 51st edition of the Governor’s Cup that was held earlier this month.

New Zealand’s George Anyon finished eighth, Great Britain’s Matt Whitfield tenth and Charlie Welsh of the USA was 12th. All three will use their experience at the Youth Match Racing Worlds.

Racing in custom Governor’s Cup 22s, the teams will sail a double round robin qualifying stage to determine the top four teams to advance to semi-finals with the top two advancing to the final to crown a 2017 World Champion.

Competitor List
Australia – Harry Price, Angus Williams, Tara Blanc‐Ramos
Australia – Clare Costanzo, Jessica Angus, Emma May, Hannah Lanz
Denmark – Felix Jacobsen, Sebastian Pieters, August la Cour
France – Cyril Fortin, Jeremy Picot, Kim Goetz
Great Britain – Matt Whitfield, Sophie Heritage, Ellie Meopham
Italy – Ettore Botticini, Simone Busonero, Arianna Botticini, Lorenzo Gennari
New Zealand – George Anyon, Matthew Hughes, Taylor Balogh
New Zealand – Josh Wijohn, Tim Snedden, Nick Egnot Johnson
Switzerland – Mathieu Cadei, Romain Defferrard, Matthieu Ravussin
Sweden – Johanna Berqvist, Isabelle Bergqvist, Ellinor Hansson, Fanny Edgren
USA – Grenier Hobbs, Noah Barrengos, Colton Carnevale
USA – Charlie Welsh, John Horton, Robert Garrett

Event details:

Source: World Sailing


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.