Team Lightning wins Baldwin Cup

Published on April 6th, 2019

Newport Beach, CA (April 6, 2019) – Finishing three days of very close competition in Newport Beach champagne conditions, Newport Harbor Yacht Club’s Team Lightning took first place in the 2019 Baldwin Cup Team Race (BCTR). Larchmont Yacht Club finished second.

The championship sail-off between Larchmont Yacht Club and Newport Harbor Yacht Club Team Lightning today capped off day that started in six knots of breezing building to 12 knots out of the west.

Team Lightning beat Larchmont Harbor Yacht Club three zero in the finals. It was a triumphant first-time win for Team Lightning sailor Caleb Silby who long sailed for various NHYC teams. He somersaulted into the bay celebrate.

This year’s Baldwin Cup Team Race saw: old adversaries with winners often being determined in the last 10 feet of the race and the best stadium style racing in front of the new clubhouse just off the dock with over 300 spectators.

“We couldn’t have asked for more perfect weather,” said Staff Commodore Jeff Gordon and regatta chairman. “We could not do this regatta without the support of our sponsors, JPMorgan Chase supporting this event for six years, Goslings Rum, and, new this year, Dry Creek Vineyard.

“In addition, a huge thank goes out to our amazing group of 150 volunteers that work the event every day and host our umpires, judges and competitors in their homes. Lastly, we would like to thank our competitors that traveled from as far as the U.K. who bring their competitive spirit to our yacht club year after year.”

“It has been fantastic week, said Ethan Morgan, executive managing director Orange County and San Diego market manager. “The Newport Harbor Yacht Club did a perfect job. We are so impressed with their level of excellence, which matches how we conduct our own business. From the beautiful setting to volunteer members, everything was perfect for our clients and guests. We look forward to next year’s event.”

Other Baldwin Cup Team Race traditions were front and center including the Duffy boat asking if the race on the water was “sailing lessons” and wanting to know where they could sign up: to Staff Commodore Dwight Belden running out of gas in the mark boat, paddling in with a boat hook, and commentators Brooks Clark and Adam Deermount sharing Brexit jokes when the Royal Thames Yacht Club was eliminated, followed by the song “Werewolves of London.”

The 12th edition has attracted teams from Annapolis Yacht Club (Annapolis, MD), Balboa Yacht Club (Newport Beach, CA), Corinthian Yacht Club, Larchmont Yacht Club, New York Yacht Club, Royal Thames Yacht Club, St. Francis Yacht Club, San Diego Yacht Club, Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club, and Southern Yacht Club.

Racing was held April 4-6.

Event DetailsResultsFacebook

2019 Entry List:
Annapolis Yacht Club – Annapolis, MD
Cole Allsopp
Debbie Gosselin
John Howell
Jonathan Bartlett
Patrick Floyd
Sarah Russell
Charlie Lomax
Ginny Minninger

Balboa Yacht Club – Newport Beach, CA
Katie McDowell
Christine Robertson
Shannon Steele
Chuck Simmons
Alex Steele
Greg Newman
Aubrey Mayer
Jon Novak

Corinthian Yacht Club – Marblehead, MA
Will Bailey
Kate Donegan
Evan Cooke
Patrick Donegan
Joe Fava
Elise Nash
Duncan Swain
Sam Madden

Larchmont Yacht Club – Larchmont, NY
Danny Pletsch
Tori Porter
Cardwell Potts
Kendra Emhiser
Graham Landy
Jason Caroll
Senet Pletsch
Jennifer Potts

New York Yacht Club – New York, NY
Derek Webster
Anna Han
Nicky Souter
James Barry
Harry Koepell
Charles Welsh
William Gammell
Lauren Koch

Royal Thames Yacht Club – London, UK
Andy Cornah
Scott Millar
Ben Ainsworth
Tom Heywood
Arthur Henderson
James Pindar
Fiona Hampshire
Greg Hall

St. Francis Yacht Club – San Francisco, CA
Mateo Vargas
Craig Healy
Morgan Larson
Joey Pasquali
Kevin Laube
Russ Silvestri
Kieran Chung
Eliza Richartz

San Diego Yacht Club – San Diego, CA
Jake Reynolds
Erik Shampain
Tyler Sinks
Lucy Wallace
Adam Roberts
Nick Martin
Scott Sinks
Nick Kaschak

Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club – Oyster Bay, NY
Dave Perry
Holly Constants
John Storck, III
Emily Babbitt
Ian Storck
Kyle Shattuck
Joel Hanneman
Sophie DeLaCour

Southern Yacht Club – New Orleans, LA
Charles Higgins
Corky Potts
Dwight Leblanc
Ward Pitard
Scott Sonnier
Wendy Kerrigan
Christian Gambel
Kohl Killeen

Newport Harbor Yacht Club Lightning – Newport Beach, CA
Caleb Silsby
Bill Menninger
Mac Mace
Ward Mace
Alex Curtiss
Robert Kinney
Jake La Dow
Chris Banholzer

Newport Harbor Yacht Club Thunder – Newport Beach, CA
Brian Bissell
Perry Bissell
Justin Law
Randall Hause
Scott Hogan
Tim Hogan
Tyler Macdonald
Reid Vitarelli

Source: Chris Ann Goddard

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.