How would you decide this?

Published on May 14th, 2025

Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes highlights specific aspects of the racing rules in a fun format designed to help you become more familiar with The Racing Rules of Sailing. Here are two of the quizzes:

Quiz 4:
A race committee boat is anchored at the port end of the starting line. Boat X starts and immediately catches the race committee boat’s anchor line on her centerboard. Reacting quickly, X’s helmsman heels the boat while her crew goes to leeward, pushes the anchor line down and frees it from the centerboard. X does not touch the committee boat, nor does she do a penalty turn after the incident. Boat Y protests.

You are on the protest committee…how would you decide this? Answer below.

Quiz 23
In eight knots of wind and no current, two boats, LO and WI, are approaching the race committee boat on starboard tack with two minutes and thirty seconds remaining before the starting signal. LO is aiming to pass to leeward of the race committee boat. When a length away from the race committee boat, WI hails, “Room!” and LO replies, “No Way!” WI holds her course and LO bears away to avoid contact and hails “Protest!”

You are on the protest committee… how would you decide this? Answer below.

Quiz 4 Answer:
Boat Y’s protest is disallowed. X does not break rule 31, Touching a Mark, because she does not touch the mark. The definition Mark reads, “…an anchor line is not part of the mark.” Furthermore, X does not propel herself by pulling on the anchor line; therefore she does not break rule 42, Propulsion.

Quiz 23 Answer:
Disallow LO’s protest. When boats are approaching the race committee boat to start the race, the rules of Part 2, Section C, At Marks and Obstructions, do not apply (see the preamble to Section C). In this case, when LO and WI were approaching the race committee boat, there were two and a half minutes remaining before the starting signal. Therefore, the boats were not approaching the race committee boat to start the race, and the rules of Part 2, Section C, At Marks and Obstructions, applied (see the preamble to Section C).

Rule 19.2(b), Giving Room at an Obstruction, states: “When boats are over-lapped, the outside boat shall give the inside boat room between her and the obstruction…”. The race committee boat is an “obstruction” due to its physical size (see the definition Obstruction). LO was the outside boat, and she properly gave WI room to pass between her and the race committee boat.

Source: US Sailing

comment banner

Tags: , ,



Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • This field is hidden when viewing the form
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.